Head to head
Testosterone Cypionate vs Enanthate
Two esters, one labelled dose range, and fewer real differences than the internet suggests. Read from both FDA labels.
Reviewed
The short answer
The two labels give the same dose range — 50 to 400 mg every two to four weeks — and describe the same route, the same storage and the same class of ester. On the question most people are asking, the labels do not distinguish them.
The documented differences are the oil they are dissolved in, the preservative, and the strengths they are supplied in. Those matter if you have a seed allergy or a preservative sensitivity, and they matter for what volume you draw. They do not tell you to inject on a different schedule.
The one asymmetry worth knowing: the cypionate label states a half-life of approximately eight days. The enanthate label states no ester half-life at all. The widely repeated figure for enanthate does not come from its label.
6 of 11 dimensions are materially the same. They are marked below rather than dressed up as differences.
Testosterone cypionate
Depo-Testosterone
Testosterone esterified with cyclopentylpropionic acid, in cottonseed oil.
Dosing protocol →Testosterone enanthate
Delatestryl · Xyosted
Testosterone esterified with enanthic acid, in sesame oil.
Side by side
Every row carries how well supported it is. A claim that only reflects common practice is labelled as such rather than presented as fact.
| Dimension | Testosterone cypionate | Testosterone enanthate | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Labelled dose rangesame | 50–400 mg every 2–4 weeks | 50–400 mg every 2–4 weeks | labelIdentical on both labels, for replacement in the hypogonadal male. |
| Routesame | Intramuscular, deep gluteal | Intramuscular | labelNeither label permits intravenous administration. |
| Stated half-life | Approximately 8 days | Not stated on the label | labelThe enanthate label discusses free testosterone at 10–100 minutes, which is a different quantity. Any ester figure you see for enanthate comes from elsewhere. |
| Vehicle | Cottonseed oil, 736 mg/mL | Sesame oil | labelThe practical difference for most people. A sesame allergy rules out enanthate; cottonseed sensitivity rules out cypionate. |
| Preservative | Benzyl benzoate and benzyl alcohol | Chlorobutanol, 5 mg/mL | labelBenzyl alcohol sensitivity is uncommon but documented, and is a reason a prescriber may switch ester. |
| Strengths supplied | 100 mg/mL and 200 mg/mL | 200 mg/mL | labelCypionate at 100 mg/mL doubles the volume for a given dose, which makes small doses easier to measure accurately. |
| Vial sizes | 1 mL and 10 mL | 5 mL | label |
| Storagesame | 20–25 °C, do not refrigerate | 20–25 °C, do not refrigerate | label |
| Controlled statussame | Schedule III | Schedule III | label |
| Injection frequency in practicesame | Often weekly or twice weekly | Often weekly or twice weekly | practiceBoth labels permit two-to-four-week intervals. Shorter intervals are a clinical judgement about peak-to-trough swing, applied to both esters alike, and are not specified for either. |
| Monitoringsame | Total testosterone, haematocrit, PSA over 40 | Total testosterone, haematocrit, PSA over 40 | guidelineThe Endocrine Society guideline does not distinguish esters for monitoring. |
- label
- Stated on the FDA label
- guideline
- Clinical practice guideline
- literature
- Published literature
- practice
- Common practice, not documented
Which one
Choose Testosterone cypionate if
- You need a 100 mg/mL concentration — small doses are easier to draw accurately at half the strength.
- You have a sesame allergy.
- You want the ester whose label actually states a duration figure.
- Your pharmacy stocks 10 mL vials and you would rather reorder less often.
Choose Testosterone enanthate if
- You have a cottonseed sensitivity, or react to benzyl alcohol.
- Your prescriber or insurer defaults to it — there is no labelled reason to push back.
- You are using the auto-injector presentation, which is an enanthate product.
For almost everyone the choice is made by what the pharmacy stocks and what insurance covers, and that is a reasonable way to decide. The labels give no dosing reason to prefer one, and switching between them is not a change in therapy — it is a change in oil.
Frequently asked questions
- Is testosterone cypionate stronger than enanthate?
- No. Both labels give the same dose range for replacement in the hypogonadal male — 50 to 400 mg every two to four weeks — and both are commonly supplied at 200 mg/mL. A 100 mg dose of one delivers the same testosterone as 100 mg of the other; the ester is hydrolysed off in the body either way.
- Does cypionate last longer than enanthate?
- The cypionate label states a half-life of approximately eight days. The enanthate label does not state an ester half-life at all — its only half-life figure, 10 to 100 minutes, refers to free testosterone in circulation, which is a different quantity. So the honest answer is that one label makes a claim and the other does not, and the commonly cited enanthate figure does not come from its label. Both labels permit the same two-to-four-week interval.
- Can I switch from enanthate to cypionate?
- That is a question for your prescriber, but nothing in either label suggests a dose conversion is needed — the ranges are identical. The practical differences are the oil, the preservative and the available strengths. Note that the cypionate label does warn specifically against using cypionate interchangeably with testosterone propionate, which is a genuinely shorter-acting ester; it makes no such warning about enanthate.
- Which ester is better for injection site pain?
- Neither label addresses injection site pain, and claims that one oil is more comfortable than the other are not documented in the labelling. What is documented is that they are different oils — cottonseed for cypionate, sesame for enanthate — with different preservatives. If you react badly to one, switching ester is a reasonable thing to raise with your prescriber.
- Do they need different needles or syringes?
- No. Both are viscous oil solutions supplied at 200 mg/mL and both are labelled for intramuscular use, so both call for a luer-lock barrel with a wider drawing needle and a finer 1 to 1.5 inch injecting needle. Cypionate is also supplied at 100 mg/mL, which doubles the volume you draw for the same dose.
Sources
- [1]FDA label — DEPO-Testosterone (testosterone cypionate) injection, Pharmacia & Upjohn (DailyMed SPL)
- [2]FDA label — Testosterone Enanthate Injection USP, Hikma Pharmaceuticals (DailyMed SPL)
- [3]Bhasin S, et al. Testosterone Therapy in Men With Hypogonadism: An Endocrine Society Clinical Practice Guideline. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2018;103(5):1715–1744
Next steps
Educational reference, not medical advice. Which medication suits you is a decision for your prescriber.