Condition guide
Androgenetic Alopecia
A diagnosis made by ruling out the alopecias that are not androgenetic — and the labels that say so, quoted rather than summarised.
Also called: Male pattern hair loss · Male pattern baldness · MPHL · AGA · Common baldness · Hereditary hair loss
- Reviewed by
- Alpha Health Finder Editorial Team
- Last reviewed
What this page can and cannot do
This page cannot tell you that your hair loss is androgenetic. It is not a diagnosis you confirm — it is one you reach after the alopecias that are not androgenetic have been ruled out, and two of those are conditions where delay costs you hair you do not get back. A scarring alopecia destroys the follicle permanently and the window in which treatment protects anything is measured in months, not years. That is the reason this page opens with exclusions rather than with a pattern chart.
It also cannot stage you. Matching yourself to a drawing on a screen and having a clinician stage your scalp under light with a dermatoscope are different acts, and the second one is looking for things the first cannot detect — whether the follicular openings are still there, whether the hairs vary in calibre across one area, whether there is inflammation or scale at the base. Our Norwood scale tool exists and says the same thing on its own page.
What this page can do is set out, in quoted source text, exactly what has been established and what has not. That turns out to be less than the marketing implies and more than the cynicism implies. Two drugs have approved indications in the United States, both have published trial populations narrower than the men being sold to, and neither label makes any claim about a receding hairline. Where the guidelines of different countries disagree, both are printed. Where a number a reader would expect does not exist in a source we could open, the page says so.
What androgenetic alopecia is
Androgenetic alopecia is a heritable, androgen-dependent, progressive miniaturisation of scalp hair follicles that follows a pattern. Each word in that sentence is doing work. Heritable is why the labels ask about family history. Androgen-dependent is why the only oral drug approved for it is a 5α-reductase inhibitor. Progressive is why a five-year placebo arm ends with every untreated man having lost hair from baseline. And the pattern is why it is separable from the alopecias that are diffuse or patchy.
Miniaturisation is the mechanism and it is worth understanding, because it explains why treatment protects more than it restores. Affected follicles do not die at once; they cycle back each time thinner, shorter and lighter, until what grows from them is barely visible and eventually nothing does. Reversing a miniaturised follicle is possible while it is still cycling. Once the follicle is gone, no drug on any label brings it back — which makes the timing of the decision the most consequential thing about it.
It is common enough that the European treatment guideline describes it as "the most common hair loss disorder, affecting both men and women" and states that its frequency "increases with age and affects up to 80% Caucasian men and 42% of women". Read the qualifier: that is a lifetime figure for one ancestry group, quoted from a guideline, and it is not a statement about your decade.
One thing it is not: a hormone problem. This is the commonest inference men make and it is wrong in both directions. Androgenetic alopecia occurs at entirely normal testosterone levels, and a low testosterone does not produce it — our hypogonadism page states, quoting the Endocrine Society’s own list of specific signs, that loss of established body hair is a different observation from male pattern baldness and that androgenetic alopecia is not a sign of hypogonadism. Nothing on this page should be read as a reason to have your testosterone measured.
Why the pattern is not the proof
Almost everything a man can observe about his own hair loss is shared with the conditions this diagnosis has to be separated from. Thinning is shared with telogen effluvium. Increased shedding is shared with telogen effluvium and with several drug effects. A visible scalp is shared with essentially everything. The one observation that genuinely favours androgenetic alopecia — the pattern — is also the one most easily misread, because a diffuse process superimposed on early pattern loss looks like advanced pattern loss.
The structured signs at the foot of this section are short for a reason that is worth stating plainly rather than hiding. This condition has very few findings a clinician can make that a man cannot see in a mirror. That is not a gap in our sourcing; it is why the diagnosis is made by exclusion. The clinician’s advantage is not a secret sign — it is a dermatoscope, a hair count, and a differential list they can actually run.
What a clinician does that a mirror does not: look at whether the follicular openings are still present, because their loss means scarring and scarring means permanence; look at whether hairs in one small area vary in calibre, which is what miniaturisation looks like under magnification; count hairs in a defined area rather than estimating; and check for scale, redness, pustules or pain, because an inflamed scalp is the label’s own reason to stop and see someone.
The most useful thing a man can bring to that appointment is not a self-assessment. It is a timeline — when it started, whether it was sudden, whether anything happened three to four months before it started, what medications changed — and a photograph from several years ago. The history discriminates in a way the current appearance does not.
Why there is no symptom checklist on this page
There is no tick-the-boxes hair loss quiz on this page, and the reason is specific to this condition rather than borrowed from any other. A checklist works by accumulating features that make a diagnosis more likely. Androgenetic alopecia is not established that way — it is what remains after the alternatives have been excluded, and the alternatives are excluded by looking at a scalp, not by answering questions. Worse, the two exclusions that carry real cost are exactly the two a self-assessment is least able to make. A scarring alopecia such as frontal fibrosing alopecia or lichen planopilaris destroys the follicle permanently, and its early appearance is a receding hairline — indistinguishable from the commonest presentation of androgenetic alopecia to anyone without magnification and a pair of trained eyes. Every month spent treating it as pattern loss is follicle that does not come back. The FDA reached the same conclusion from the other direction and wrote it into an over-the-counter label: the 5% minoxidil Drug Facts carton tells the buyer not to use the product if "your hair loss is sudden and/or patchy", if "you have no family history of hair loss", if "your scalp is red, inflamed, infected, irritated, or painful", and — the bullet that settles the argument — if "you do not know the reason for your hair loss". That last one is a regulator stating, on the packaging, that the purchaser is not in a position to make this diagnosis. It would be a strange page that published a quiz to help him do it anyway. So the exclusions are printed here as a table, quoted in full and in label order, framed as reasons to be examined rather than as a score.
The signs that are specific — and none of them are self-assessable
- A hair count in a defined area of scalp
- The endpoint the pivotal finasteride trials used, and a measurement rather than an impression: hair counts were assessed by photographic enlargements of a representative area of active hair loss, in a one-inch diameter circle of 5.1 cm². Nobody estimates this accurately by eye, including the man whose scalp it is.
- The proportion of hairs in the growing phase
- Measured by phototrichogram in a 1 cm² target area. The PROPECIA label reports the proportion of anagen hairs improving from 62% at baseline to 68% on treatment over 48 weeks — a real change, invisible to inspection, and the kind of figure that shows how small the differences being measured are.
- A stage assigned against the Hamilton–Norwood classification by an examiner
- Norwood published the classification in 1975 alongside incidence data from 1,000 white adult male subjects, and developed it because "the success of hair transplant surgery is largely dependent on proper patient selection". It was built to select surgical candidates, not to make a diagnosis, and it describes a scalp now rather than predicting one later.
The diagnostic criteria, quoted
Each criterion below is the guideline’s own wording, not a summary of it. Our reading follows underneath, so you can weigh one against the other.
The approved indication, and the region it does not cover
“PROPECIA® is indicated for the treatment of male pattern hair loss (androgenetic alopecia) in MEN ONLY. Efficacy in bitemporal recession has not been established.”
PROPECIA (finasteride 1 mg) FDA label — section 1, Indications and Usage [1] Two sentences, and the second is the one nobody quotes. Bitemporal recession is the temples, and the temples are the finding most men present with. Note also the capitals in the original: MEN ONLY is the label’s own emphasis, and the label goes further in section 14.2 — in 137 postmenopausal women with androgenetic alopecia, "effectiveness could not be demonstrated".
What was measured, and where it stopped
“Hair counts were obtained in the anterior mid-scalp area, and did not include the area of bitemporal recession or the anterior hairline.”
PROPECIA FDA label — section 14.1, Study in Men with Hair Loss in the Anterior Mid-Scalp Area [1] This is the sentence that draws the boundary on the front of the scalp. There is a dedicated 12-month study in the anterior mid-scalp, it did show a significant increase in hair count, and it deliberately excluded the hairline and the temples from the count. So the label supports a claim about the middle of the front of your head and supports no claim at all about its edge — a distinction that disappears in every before-and-after photograph you will be shown.
The pattern has to match, and the front of the scalp is out
“your amount of hair loss is different than that shown on the side of this carton or your hair loss is on the front of the scalp. 5% minoxidil topical solution is not intended for frontal baldness or receding hairline.”
Men’s Rogaine Extra Strength 5% minoxidil topical solution — Drug Facts, Do not use if [2] The labelled use of both 5% minoxidil presentations is "to regrow hair on the top of the scalp (vertex only, see pictures on side of carton)". A pattern that does not match the carton is a reason not to self-treat, and the reason is diagnostic rather than cosmetic: a loss that is not in the androgenetic pattern is probably not androgenetic. The foam label carries the identical bullet with the word "foam" in place of "solution".
Not sudden, and not patchy
“your hair loss is sudden and/or patchy”
Men’s Rogaine Extra Strength 5% minoxidil solution — Drug Facts, Do not use if (third bullet) [2] Eight words carrying two separate exclusions. Sudden diffuse shedding, typically two to four months after an illness, an operation, a crash diet or a severe stressor, is the picture of telogen effluvium — which is usually self-limiting and needs the cause found rather than a topical. Discrete round patches of complete loss, often with normal skin between them, is the picture of alopecia areata, which is autoimmune and treated entirely differently. Androgenetic alopecia is neither sudden nor patchy; it is slow and patterned.
A family history, or a reason you can name
“you have no family history of hair loss”
Men’s Rogaine Extra Strength 5% minoxidil solution — Drug Facts, Do not use if (fourth bullet) [2] Heritability is part of the definition of the condition, so its absence lowers the prior and raises everything else on the differential. Treat this as a probability statement rather than a rule — a dermatologist can and does diagnose androgenetic alopecia in a man with no family history, on the strength of an examination. The bullet is telling the man in the shop that he cannot.
An inflamed scalp is a different problem
“your scalp is red, inflamed, infected, irritated, or painful”
Men’s Rogaine Extra Strength 5% minoxidil solution — Drug Facts, Do not use if (seventh bullet) [2] The most important bullet on the carton, and the one that maps onto the exclusion with the highest cost of being missed. Androgenetic alopecia does not make a scalp sore, scaly or red. Redness, scale, pustules, burning or tenderness point towards an inflammatory or scarring alopecia, towards tinea capitis, or towards a dermatitis — and in the scarring group the follicle is being destroyed while the topical is being applied.
And the state of the diagnostic evidence, stated by the only body that wrote a guideline
“As evidence-based guidelines on hair disorders are rare, a European consensus group was constituted to develop guidelines for the diagnostic evaluation and treatment of AGA.”
Blume-Peytavi U, et al. S1 guideline for diagnostic evaluation in androgenetic alopecia, Br J Dermatol 2011 — abstract [4] Worth knowing before anyone quotes "the guidelines" at you. The only diagnostic guideline in this field is graded S1, which in the classification it was written under means expert consensus without a systematic evidence review, and the same abstract describes its content as "expert opinion-based recommendations". Its treatment counterpart from the same forum is graded S3. The asymmetry is real and it is the reason this page leans on labels.
Where the guidelines disagree
On these points there is no consensus to report. Both positions are printed with the wording each body used.
Whether dutasteride belongs in the treatment of male pattern hair loss
Japanese Dermatological Association (2017 guideline)
“In these guidelines, finasteride 1 mg daily, dutasteride 0.5 mg daily and topical 5% minoxidil twice daily for MPHL, and topical 1% minoxidil twice daily for FPHL, are recommended as the first-line treatments.”
United States FDA labelling for dutasteride (AVODART, NDA 021319)
“AVODART is a 5 alpha-reductase inhibitor indicated for the treatment of symptomatic benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH) in men with an enlarged prostate”
What this page does: Both are printed because the gap is jurisdictional rather than scientific and a reader deserves to know which he is being quoted. Japan lists dutasteride 0.5 mg daily among four first-line treatments for male-pattern hair loss. The United States label for the same molecule carries one indication and it is benign prostatic hyperplasia; we read its Indications section in full and there is no hair loss indication in it. So a man prescribed dutasteride for his hair in the United States is being prescribed off-label — which is lawful and common, and is not the same thing as an approved use. This page states which is which and leaves the choice where it belongs, with a prescriber who can explain why they are going outside the label.
Whether oral minoxidil should be used at all
Japanese Dermatological Association (2017 guideline)
“Self-hair transplantation, irradiation by light-emitting diodes and low-level lasers, and topical application of adenosine for MPHL are recommended, whereas prosthetic hair transplantation and oral administration of minoxidil should not be performed.”
United States FDA labelling for topical minoxidil (NDA 020834)
“to regrow hair on the top of the scalp (vertex only, see pictures on side of carton)”
What this page does: An unusual pairing, and it is printed because the two documents are the only primary statements we could open about the route this drug is taken by. Japan’s national guideline says in terms that oral minoxidil should not be performed. In the United States the only labelled minoxidil for hair loss is topical, and the Drug Facts carton says so in its Use section and repeats it under Warnings as "For external use only". Oral minoxidil is nonetheless prescribed off-label for hair loss in the United States and elsewhere. This page notes that one guideline body has looked at it and recommended against it, notes that no approved oral product exists here for this use, and does not adjudicate — the prescribing decision belongs to a clinician who can weigh a cardiovascular drug being used for a cosmetic indication.
How much evidence the diagnosis rests on, compared with the treatment
European Dermatology Forum — S1 diagnostic guideline (2011)
“This S1 guideline for diagnostic evaluation of AGA in men, women and adolescents reviews the definition of AGA and presents expert opinion-based recommendations for sex-dependent steps in the diagnostic procedure.”
European Dermatology Forum and EADV — S3 treatment guideline (2018)
“Based on a systematic literature research the efficacy of the currently available therapeutic options was assessed and therapeutic recommendations were passed in a consensus conference.”
What this page does: Not a contradiction between two bodies but an asymmetry inside one, and it explains the shape of this page. The same European forum graded its guidance on how to treat androgenetic alopecia S3 — systematic literature review plus a formal consensus conference — and graded its guidance on how to diagnose it S1, which is expert opinion without a systematic review. A field can know a great deal about which drug works and comparatively little about how to establish who should be given it. That is why the criteria section here is built from FDA-reviewed label text rather than from a guideline, and why the page treats the diagnosis as an exclusion exercise carried out by someone who can examine a scalp.
The nearest thing to diagnostic criteria a man is ever handed
The complete "Do not use if" list from the 5% minoxidil Drug Facts label, in label order, with what each bullet is excluding. This is FDA-reviewed text on an over-the-counter carton, and it is a better exclusion list than most articles about hair loss contain.
| What the label says | What that bullet is ruling out |
|---|---|
| you are a woman | Female pattern hair loss, which has its own presentation, its own classification and a different labelled minoxidil strength. |
| your amount of hair loss is different than that shown on the side of this carton or your hair loss is on the front of the scalp | Anything that is not the vertex pattern the product was studied on — including the hairline, which is the part most men are actually worried about. |
| you have no family history of hair loss | The heritable pattern itself. Without a family history the prior probability drops and something else moves up the list. |
| your hair loss is sudden and/or patchy | Telogen effluvium, which is diffuse and sudden after an illness or a stressor, and alopecia areata, which is patchy and autoimmune. Neither is androgenetic. |
| you do not know the reason for your hair loss | Everything else — the bullet that exists because the buyer is not qualified to make the diagnosis and the label knows it. |
| you are under 18 years of age | An age band the product was never studied in, and one in which other causes are relatively commoner. |
| your scalp is red, inflamed, infected, irritated, or painful | The scarring and inflammatory alopecias, tinea capitis and dermatitis. This is the most important bullet on the carton and the one least often read. |
| you use other medicines on the scalp | Interaction and absorption effects, rather than a competing diagnosis. |
Reproduced complete, because the value of an exclusion list is destroyed by trimming it. The wording is identical on the 5% solution and the 5% foam except for the product name in the second bullet, where the solution reads "5% minoxidil topical solution is not intended for frontal baldness or receding hairline" and the foam reads "5% minoxidil topical foam is not intended for frontal baldness or receding hairline". Note what the list is not: it is a set of reasons not to self-treat, not a rule for a clinician. A dermatologist may well diagnose androgenetic alopecia in a man with no family history. The point of the list is that you cannot. Sources: [2] [3]
Which part of the scalp each treatment was actually studied on
The two approved drugs do not cover the same head, and neither covers the temples. Every cell comes from the labelled indication or the clinical studies section of the label named in the column.
| Region of the scalp | Minoxidil 5% topicalOTC, NDA 020834 and NDA 021812 | Finasteride 1 mg oralPROPECIA, NDA 020788 |
|---|---|---|
| Vertex (crown) | The labelled useto regrow hair on the top of the scalp (vertex only) | Studiedtwo of the three pivotal studies, n=1553 |
| Anterior mid-scalp | Excludedthe label directs the buyer away from the front of the scalp | Studied separatelya third 12-month study, n=326 |
| Anterior hairline | Excludednot intended for frontal baldness or receding hairline | Not countedexcluded from the hair counts in the mid-scalp study |
| Bitemporal recession (the temples) | Excludedsame bullet as the hairline | Not establishedstated in the Indications section itself |
| Complete baldness | Outside the pattern shown on the carton | Not studiedthe trials enrolled mild to moderate, but not complete, hair loss |
The temples are the finding men most often present with and the only region both labels explicitly decline. The PROPECIA label states "Efficacy in bitemporal recession has not been established" in its Indications section, and describes the mid-scalp study as one in which "Hair counts were obtained in the anterior mid-scalp area, and did not include the area of bitemporal recession or the anterior hairline". Nothing in either label supports a claim about a receding hairline, and a clinic that makes one is not quoting a label. Sources: [1] [2] [3]
What the pivotal trials measured, and in whom
Before reading any percentage about either drug, read who it was measured in. Both labels state their trial populations, and both populations are narrower than the men being sold to.
| Trial characteristic | Finasteride 1 mgPROPECIA label, section 14.1 | Minoxidil 5% topical solutionDrug Facts, Other information |
|---|---|---|
| Who was enrolled | men (88% Caucasian) with mild to moderate androgenetic alopecia (male pattern hair loss) between 18 and 41 years of age | mostly white men aged 18-49 years with moderate degrees of hair loss |
| How many | 1,879 men across three 12-month studies1,553 vertex, 326 anterior mid-scalp | Not stated on the Drug Facts labelthe carton gives the population, not the number |
| What else every participant got | A medicated tar-based shampoo for the first two yearson drug and on placebo alike, to prevent seborrhoeic dermatitis confounding the assessment | Not stated |
| How long the effect is claimed for | Up to 5 years in the extension studiesmaximum improvement in hair count achieved during the first 2 years | hair regrowth has not been shown to last longer than 48 weeks in large clinical trials with continuous treatment |
| What happens on placebo | At 5 years, 100% of men in the placebo group demonstrated hair loss, compared with 35% of men treated with PROPECIAhair loss defined as any decrease in hair count from baseline | Not stated on the Drug Facts label |
| What the label warns will not happen | Withdrawal of treatment leads to reversal of effect within 12 months | the amount of hair regrowth is different for each person. This product will not work for all men |
Two things to carry away. The finasteride trials stopped at 41 and the minoxidil trials at 49, so neither label speaks to a man of 55 — that is a limit on the evidence, not a statement that the drugs fail. And the largest number on the finasteride row is the placebo one: at five years every untreated man in the trial had lost hair from his own baseline. The comparison being made is with the alternative of doing nothing, in men who had already started losing hair. Sources: [1] [2]
What the guidelines are, and what class of evidence each carries
Three guideline documents exist in this field and none of them is American. The class matters: S1 means expert consensus with no systematic evidence review, S3 means systematic literature review plus formal consensus.
| Guideline | What it covers | Class | What it says about its own evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| European Dermatology Forum, 2011 | Diagnostic evaluation in men, women and adolescents | S1the weakest class | presents expert opinion-based recommendations for sex-dependent steps in the diagnostic procedure |
| European Dermatology Forum / EADV, 2018 | Treatment in women and in men | S3systematic review plus consensus conference | Based on a systematic literature research the efficacy of the currently available therapeutic options was assessed |
| Japanese Dermatological Association, 2017 | Diagnosis and treatment of male- and female-pattern hair loss | Evidence-graded national guideline | Names four first-line treatments and two that should not be performed — see the disagreements section |
| Any United States body | Nothing we could find | None | No US diagnostic guideline for this condition was located; the binding American documents are the drug labels |
The first two rows are the same forum grading its own work differently on the two halves of the problem, and the gap is the honest state of the field: what to prescribe has been systematically reviewed, how to establish who should get it has not. The last row is a statement about our search rather than a proof of absence — if a United States diagnostic guideline for androgenetic alopecia exists, we did not find it, and this page will be updated if someone points us at one. Sources: [4] [5] [6]
The tests, and what each one answers
A dermatological examination of the scalp
Whether the follicular openings are still present, whether hair calibre varies across a small area, and whether there is inflammation or scale. In other words, whether this is androgenetic at all.
“This S1 guideline for diagnostic evaluation of AGA in men, women and adolescents reviews the definition of AGA and presents expert opinion-based recommendations for sex-dependent steps in the diagnostic procedure.”
A hair count in a defined area
Whether anything has changed, in a number rather than an impression. This is the endpoint the approval trials used and the only objective way to tell a treatment is working.
“Hair counts were assessed by photographic enlargements of a representative area of active hair loss.”
A prostate-specific antigen result, interpreted knowing you are on finasteride
Not a diagnostic test for hair loss, and on this page for one reason: the drug distorts a cancer test, and the man who forgets to mention it is the one who is harmed by it.
“In clinical studies with PROPECIA (finasteride, 1 mg) in men 18-41 years of age, the mean value of serum prostate specific antigen (PSA) decreased from 0.7 ng/mL at baseline to 0.5 ng/mL at Month 12.”
A breast examination if anything changes there
Whether a breast change on treatment needs investigating. The label makes this a counselling point rather than a routine test, and the instruction is to report rather than to watch.
“Physicians should instruct their patients to promptly report any changes in their breasts such as lumps, pain or nipple discharge. Breast changes including breast enlargement, tenderness and neoplasm have been reported”
The alopecias this has to be separated from
This is the working part of the page, because androgenetic alopecia is what is left when these have been excluded rather than something confirmed on its own. Two of them are urgent in the sense that matters — the follicle is being lost while the wrong treatment is applied. The FDA wrote most of this list into an over-the-counter carton as reasons not to self-treat, which is a fair summary of how confidently a man can run it himself.
- Telogen effluvium
- Diffuse shedding that starts suddenly, classically two to four months after an illness, an operation, a severe stressor, a crash diet or a new drug, and usually settles once the cause is gone. The minoxidil label excludes exactly this presentation with the bullet "your hair loss is sudden and/or patchy", because the treatment for it is finding the trigger rather than applying a topical to a scalp that is already recovering.
- Alopecia areata
- Autoimmune, and the other half of the same excluded bullet: discrete patches of complete hair loss, often round, frequently with normal-looking skin between them, sometimes affecting beard or eyebrows too. It can remit spontaneously and it can progress, and it has a treatment pathway of its own that has nothing in common with a 5α-reductase inhibitor.
- Scarring (cicatricial) alopecia, including frontal fibrosing alopecia
- The one where delay is measured in follicles. The inflammation destroys the follicle permanently, so what is lost does not come back whatever is applied afterwards — and the early presentation of frontal fibrosing alopecia is a receding frontal hairline, which is precisely the picture a man will read as ordinary pattern loss. The label’s exclusion for a scalp that is "red, inflamed, infected, irritated, or painful" is pointing at this group.
- Tinea capitis and other scalp infections
- A fungal infection of the scalp produces patchy loss with scale and sometimes broken hairs and tenderness, and it needs an oral antifungal rather than anything on this page. It falls under the same Drug Facts exclusion for an inflamed, infected or irritated scalp, and it is a reminder that the carton’s exclusion list is doing real diagnostic work rather than covering a manufacturer legally.
- Drug-induced hair loss
- A long list including anticoagulants, retinoids, some antihypertensives, chemotherapeutic agents and anabolic steroid use, and the reason the minoxidil label excludes a man who does "not know the reason for your hair loss". This is the differential with the best ratio of effort to result, because the fix is a conversation about a prescription rather than a new one.
- Female pattern hair loss, in anyone the male labels exclude
- Not a semantic point. Both 5% minoxidil products state "For use by men only" and exclude women in the first Do not use bullet, and the PROPECIA label reports that in 137 postmenopausal women with androgenetic alopecia "effectiveness could not be demonstrated" — no improvement in hair counts, self-assessment, investigator assessment or photographs. The pattern, the workup and the evidence are different.
- Hypogonadism — which this is not, in either direction
- Listed because it is the inference men most often make. Androgenetic alopecia occurs at normal testosterone concentrations and is not among the specific signs of testosterone deficiency; our hypogonadism page states that androgenetic alopecia is not a sign of hypogonadism, quoting the guideline list it is absent from. Hair loss is not a reason to have a testosterone panel drawn, and a normal testosterone is not a reason to stop investigating hair loss.
What treatment means here
Topical minoxidil 5%, over the counter
Applied to the vertex twice daily. Two things on the carton set expectations better than anything else you will read: the label states that "hair regrowth has not been shown to last longer than 48 weeks in large clinical trials with continuous treatment with 5% minoxidil topical solution for men", and it says plainly that "This product will not work for all men". It also sets a decision point — stop and ask a doctor if there is no regrowth in 4 months.
“to regrow hair on the top of the scalp (vertex only, see pictures on side of carton)”
The 5% foam, which is the same drug in a different vehicle
Identical active ingredient at 5%, identical labelled use, identical exclusion list. The difference is the vehicle and, practically, the fact that the foam carton states no volume per application while the solution specifies one millilitre twice daily — which is why our bottle-duration tool can date a solution bottle and cannot date a foam can.
“to regrow hair on the top of the scalp (vertex only, see pictures on side of this carton)”
Oral finasteride 1 mg, on prescription
The only oral drug with a United States indication for this condition. The label sets the timescale — "In general, daily use for three months or more is necessary before benefit is observed" — and the exit condition: "Withdrawal of treatment leads to reversal of effect within 12 months." It also carries three things worth reading before starting: a pregnancy contraindication with a handling instruction for broken tablets, a PSA effect, and a section on sexual adverse events which the label directs physicians to discuss.
“The recommended dose of PROPECIA is one tablet (1 mg) taken once daily.”
What the European treatment guideline set out to do
For orientation rather than as a protocol. The S3 guideline is the only systematically reviewed treatment document in this field, it covers women as well as men, and it is European — so the products it discusses are not identical to the products approved in the United States. Its stated purpose is narrower than a management plan.
“The purpose of the guideline is to provide dermatologists with an evidence-based tool for choosing an efficacious and safe therapy for patients with androgenetic alopecia.”
Numbers this page will not give you
Each of these is a figure other pages state confidently. Each is omitted here because no source we could open supports one.
- What are the diagnostic criteria for androgenetic alopecia?
- No criteria set is printed because none exists in a document we could open. We found no United States diagnostic guideline for this condition at all. The only European one is graded S1 and describes its own content as "expert opinion-based recommendations", while the same forum’s treatment guideline is graded S3 with a systematic literature review behind it. What this page prints instead is the exclusion list from the FDA-reviewed minoxidil Drug Facts label, complete and in label order, which is the nearest thing to formal criteria that exists in American labelling — and it is a list of reasons not to self-diagnose rather than a test.
- What percentage of men have hair loss at my age?
- No decade-by-decade figure is printed. The one guideline-level number we could source is the European treatment guideline’s statement that androgenetic alopecia "affects up to 80% Caucasian men and 42% of women" — a lifetime upper bound for one ancestry group with no age breakdown and no cohort attached. Norwood’s 1975 paper does report incidence by age, in 1,000 white adult male subjects, in a study designed to select hair transplant candidates. Neither is a current age-specific prevalence and this page will not assemble one from them.
- Will treatment bring my hairline back?
- Neither label supports a hairline claim and this page will not make one. The PROPECIA label states "Efficacy in bitemporal recession has not been established" in the Indications section itself, and its anterior mid-scalp study excluded the hairline and the temples from the hair counts. Both 5% minoxidil labels state the product "is not intended for frontal baldness or receding hairline". The claim that either drug restores a hairline is made in marketing and is absent from every label we read.
- How much hair will I keep if I start treatment now?
- No individual prediction is given because none is derivable. The labels report group averages in specific trial populations — a 107-hair difference from placebo at 12 months in a 5.1 cm² circle, rising to 277 hairs at five years — and those are differences between arms in men aged 18 to 41 who all also used a tar-based shampoo for the first two years. Converting a group mean into a forecast for one scalp is not something the data supports, and the label itself says the amount of regrowth "is different for each person".
- Should I have my testosterone tested because of hair loss?
- Nothing on this page is a reason to. Androgenetic alopecia is androgen-dependent but occurs at entirely normal testosterone concentrations, and it does not appear among the specific signs of testosterone deficiency — our hypogonadism page states, from the Endocrine Society’s own list, that loss of established body hair is a different observation from male pattern baldness and that androgenetic alopecia is not a sign of hypogonadism. Both guidelines on that page also recommend against testing men who have no reason to be tested.
Frequently asked questions
- How do I know my hair loss is male pattern baldness and not something else?
- You largely cannot, and the FDA says so on the packaging. The 5% minoxidil Drug Facts carton tells the buyer not to use the product if "you do not know the reason for your hair loss", if "your hair loss is sudden and/or patchy", if "you have no family history of hair loss", or if "your scalp is red, inflamed, infected, irritated, or painful". Those four bullets are pointing at telogen effluvium, alopecia areata, the scarring alopecias and scalp infection respectively. The one with the highest cost of being missed is the scarring group, because the follicle is destroyed permanently and the earliest sign of frontal fibrosing alopecia is a receding hairline — which looks exactly like ordinary pattern loss to anyone without magnification.
- Will finasteride or minoxidil regrow my hairline?
- No label supports that claim. The PROPECIA label states in its Indications section that "Efficacy in bitemporal recession has not been established", and its dedicated anterior mid-scalp study reports that hair counts "did not include the area of bitemporal recession or the anterior hairline". Both 5% minoxidil labels state the product "is not intended for frontal baldness or receding hairline" and describe the labelled use as the top of the scalp, vertex only. The middle of the front of the scalp is covered by one of the two drugs; the hairline and the temples are covered by neither.
- How long before I know whether treatment is working?
- Both labels give a figure and they differ. Minoxidil: "Results may occur at 2 months with twice a day usage. For some men, you may need to use this product for at least 4 months before you see results", with an explicit stop-and-ask-a-doctor trigger if there is no regrowth at 4 months. Finasteride: "In general, daily use for three months or more is necessary before benefit is observed", with maximum improvement in hair count achieved during the first two years. The labels also agree on what happens when you stop — finasteride’s says "Withdrawal of treatment leads to reversal of effect within 12 months" and minoxidil’s says continued use is necessary "or hair loss will begin again".
- Does hair loss mean my testosterone is low?
- No, in both directions. Androgenetic alopecia is androgen-dependent but occurs at completely normal testosterone concentrations, and it is not on the list of specific signs of testosterone deficiency. Our hypogonadism page puts it in terms, working from the Endocrine Society’s own list: loss of established axillary and pubic hair is a different observation from male pattern baldness, and androgenetic alopecia is not a sign of hypogonadism. Both guidelines on that page recommend against measuring testosterone in men with no reason to be tested, and hair loss is not a reason.
- Are the trial results relevant to a man in his fifties?
- Not directly, and this is the population caveat most often dropped. The finasteride trials enrolled "men (88% Caucasian) with mild to moderate androgenetic alopecia (male pattern hair loss) between 18 and 41 years of age", and the 5% minoxidil label describes its studies as being in "mostly white men aged 18-49 years with moderate degrees of hair loss". Neither says anything about a man of 55, and neither enrolled complete hair loss — the finasteride studies specify "mild to moderate, but not complete, hair loss". That is a limit on what the evidence covers rather than a finding that the drugs stop working.
- Is dutasteride better than finasteride for hair loss?
- Two national positions exist and they are not the same. Japan’s 2017 guideline lists "finasteride 1 mg daily, dutasteride 0.5 mg daily and topical 5% minoxidil twice daily" among its first-line treatments for male-pattern hair loss. In the United States, the AVODART label’s Indications section names one indication and it is symptomatic benign prostatic hyperplasia — we read it in full and there is no hair loss indication. So in the US dutasteride for hair is off-label prescribing, which is lawful and common and is a different thing from an approved use. This page does not rank them, because no head-to-head comparison it could quote was opened.
- What does finasteride do to a PSA test?
- It lowers it, and you have to tell whoever orders the test. The PROPECIA label reports that at 1 mg in men aged 18 to 41, "the mean value of serum prostate specific antigen (PSA) decreased from 0.7 ng/mL at baseline to 0.5 ng/mL at Month 12", and that at the 5 mg dose used for prostate enlargement "PSA levels are decreased by approximately 50%". The label’s instruction is that "Any confirmed increase from the lowest PSA value while on PROPECIA may signal the presence of prostate cancer and should be evaluated, even if PSA levels are still within the normal range for men not taking a 5α-reductase inhibitor". A normal-looking number in a man on finasteride is not the same as a normal number.
- Are there guidelines for diagnosing this, and what do they say?
- There is one, it is European, and it is graded S1 — the weakest guideline class, meaning expert consensus with no systematic evidence review. Its own abstract explains the situation: "As evidence-based guidelines on hair disorders are rare, a European consensus group was constituted", and it describes its content as "expert opinion-based recommendations for sex-dependent steps in the diagnostic procedure". The same forum’s treatment guideline is graded S3 with a systematic literature review behind it. We found no United States diagnostic guideline for androgenetic alopecia at all, which is why the criteria on this page are quoted from FDA-reviewed drug labels instead.
Sources
- [1]PROPECIA (finasteride) tablets, 1 mg — FDA prescribing information, Organon LLC, NDA 020788, via DailyMed. Section 1: "PROPECIA® is indicated for the treatment of male pattern hair loss (androgenetic alopecia) in MEN ONLY. Efficacy in bitemporal recession has not been established."
- [2]Men’s Rogaine Extra Strength Unscented (minoxidil 5% w/v) topical solution — FDA OTC Drug Facts label, Kenvue Brands LLC, NDA 020834, via DailyMed. Contains the complete "Do not use if" exclusion list quoted throughout this page.
- [3]Men’s Rogaine (minoxidil 5% w/w) topical aerosol foam — FDA OTC Drug Facts label, Kenvue Brands LLC, NDA 021812, via DailyMed. Same labelled use and the same exclusion list as the solution, with the product name changed in the frontal-baldness bullet.
- [4]Blume-Peytavi U, Blumeyer A, Tosti A, et al. S1 guideline for diagnostic evaluation in androgenetic alopecia in men, women and adolescents. Br J Dermatol. 2011;164(1):5–15. PMID 20795997 — the only diagnostic guideline in this field we could locate, and it is graded S1.
- [5]Kanti V, Messenger A, Dobos G, et al. Evidence-based (S3) guideline for the treatment of androgenetic alopecia in women and in men — short version. J Eur Acad Dermatol Venereol. 2018;32(1):11–22. PMID 29178529 — "affects up to 80% Caucasian men and 42% of women".
- [6]Manabe M, Tsuboi R, Itami S, et al. Guidelines for the diagnosis and treatment of male-pattern and female-pattern hair loss, 2017 version. J Dermatol. 2018;45(9):1031–1043. PMID 29863806 — the Japanese Dermatological Association guideline naming four first-line treatments and two that should not be performed.
- [7]AVODART (dutasteride) soft gelatin capsules — FDA prescribing information, via DailyMed. Read in full for this page: the Indications and Usage section names symptomatic benign prostatic hyperplasia and contains no hair loss indication.
- [8]Norwood OT. Male pattern baldness: classification and incidence. South Med J. 1975;68(11):1359–1365. PMID 1188424 — the classification paper, based on 1,000 white adult male subjects and written because "the success of hair transplant surgery is largely dependent on proper patient selection".
Next steps
- Norwood scale — the seven stages illustrated
- Hair loss results timeline, by the label
- Finasteride cost per year
- Minoxidil bottle duration
- Finasteride vs minoxidil
- Hair restoration treatments
Other conditions
- Male HypogonadismThe diagnostic criteria quoted from the guidelines rather than summarised — two morning samples, which threshold, and the two places the guidelines contradict each other.
- Erectile DysfunctionThe evaluation quoted from the AUA and EAU guidelines rather than summarised — including why a score grades severity but cannot find a cause.
- Metabolic SyndromeNot one definition but three, disagreeing about the waist threshold and about whether it is obligatory — printed side by side rather than merged.
- GynecomastiaUsually benign and sometimes not. The examination the guideline asks for, the testicular ultrasound it recommends, and the two places the sources contradict each other.
Educational reference, not medical advice. This page describes how androgenetic alopecia is distinguished from the hair loss disorders that are not androgenetic. It does not diagnose it, and the diagnosis is not one that can be made from a photograph or a questionnaire. If your scalp is sore, red, scaly or itchy, or if the loss was sudden or is patchy, that is a reason to be examined rather than to start a topical — in the scarring alopecias the follicle is destroyed while the wrong treatment is being applied.