Free hair loss tool

Minoxidil bottle duration calculator

At the labelled 1 mL twice a day, a 60 mL bottle of minoxidil solution is exactly 30 days — and the carton says so itself. Work out any bottle, any rate, and what the foam label never tells you.

Reviewed by
Alpha Health Finder Editorial Team
Last reviewed

The label gives you the rate and the answer, so you can check the division

The Directions on every FDA-approved minoxidil topical solution — the 5% men's products and the 2% — give the same instruction: “apply one mL with dropper 2 times a day directly onto the scalp in the hair loss area”. That is 2 mL a day, and every approved bottle holds 60 mL. Sixty divided by two is thirty.

What makes that division trustworthy rather than merely plausible is that the label performs it for you, twice, in two other places. The Rogaine carton says “One Month Supply. One 60 mL (2 fl oz) Bottle”. The Directions for Use inside the Perrigo generic say “Each bottle should last about one month, if used as directed.” Three independent statements on approved labelling that all agree — which also tells you what kind of month is meant. It is a thirty-day month, not a calendar one, and every figure on this page uses the label's month rather than inventing a longer one.

The dropper is part of the accuracy. “Release the bulb, allowing the dropper to fill to the 1 mL line. If the level of the solution is above the 1 mL line, squeeze the extra amount back into the bottle.” A bottle that runs out early is usually a dropper that was overfilled, not a bottle that was underfilled — and the label answers the temptation directly: “using more or more often will not improve results.”

The foam is the case this page cannot answer, and says so. Its Directions read “apply half a capful 2 times a day to the scalp in the hair loss area”. A capful is defined by the can's own cap and by nothing else. No approved minoxidil label states what half a capful weighs or measures, so the 60 g can cannot be divided by anything. Its carton carries the same “One Month Supply” claim as the solution's, and that claim is all you get: there is no published figure for how much a foam application uses, so there is no honest way to tell you how much is left in the can. We have not estimated one.

The formula

mL a day = mL per application × applications a day

= 1 mL × 2 = 2 mL a day

days = floor(volume in mL ÷ mL a day)

bottles = ceil(days × mL a day ÷ 60 mL)

60 mL ÷ 2 mL a day = 30 days — the label calls this "One Month Supply"

Days are floored and bottles are ceiled, deliberately and in opposite directions. Half a day's solution in the bottle is not another day of treatment, and four fifths of a bottle is not a bottle you can buy. Erring the other way on either would understate what an uninterrupted course costs, and the label is blunt about what an interruption means: “continued use is necessary to increase and keep your hair regrowth, or hair loss will begin again.” None of this applies to the foam — see the third chart.

Worked example

A single 60 mL bottle of 5% minoxidil topical solution, used exactly as the Directions say — 1 mL, twice a day:

  • Daily amount = 1 mL × 2 = 2 mL a day
  • Applications in the bottle = 60 mL ÷ 1 mL = 60
  • Days = 60 mL ÷ 2 mL a day = 30 days, with 0 mL left over
  • That is 4 whole weeks, and exactly the “One Month Supply” the carton claims
  • Reaching the label's 4-month decision point — “you do not see hair regrowth in 4 months” — takes 120 days, 240 mL, or 4 bottles

How long minoxidil solution lasts at the labelled 1 mL twice a day

Each row is how much solution you have. Every figure assumes the labelled rate: 1 mL from the dropper, two times a day, 2 mL a day.

SolutionApplicationsat 1 mL eachDaysWhole weeksLabel months30 days eachSold as
60 mL1 × 60 mL bottle6030 days411-bottle carton
120 mL2 × 60 mL bottles12060 days82Not a labelled carton
180 mL3 × 60 mL bottles18090 days1233-bottle carton
240 mL4 × 60 mL bottles240120 days174Not a labelled carton
300 mL5 × 60 mL bottles300150 days215Not a labelled carton
360 mL6 × 60 mL bottles360180 days2566-bottle carton

Every FDA-approved minoxidil topical solution checked on DailyMed fills the same 60 mL bottle — Men's Rogaine Extra Strength 5% under NDA 020834, and the Walgreens, Walmart and Perrigo generics under ANDA 075518, ANDA 075357 and ANDA 075598. The cartons those labels list are one bottle, three bottles and six; the other rows are simply what you have if you bought more than one carton. A “month” here is the label's own: the carton calls 60 mL a “One Month Supply”, which at 2 mL a day makes it 30 days.

What the label’s own milestones cost in bottles

The three points the approved 5% solution label makes a statement about, and what continuous use to each of them takes at the labelled rate.

MilestoneDaysSolution needed60 mL bottlesCartons
2 months60 days of twice-daily use60120 mL21 × 3-bottle carton
4 months120 days of twice-daily use120240 mL42 × 3-bottle cartons
48 weeks336 days of twice-daily use336672 mL124 × 3-bottle cartons

The list stops at 48 weeks because that is the furthest the label will claim anything: “hair regrowth has not been shown to last longer than 48 weeks in large clinical trials with continuous treatment with 5% minoxidil topical solution for men.” Anything past it would be our extrapolation, not the label's. Note what the earlier two rows are: 2 months is the earliest the label says results MAY occur, and 4 months is a decision point, not a milestone to celebrate — the Stop use list includes “you do not see hair regrowth in 4 months”, and the label also states in terms that “this product will not work for all men”. Bottles are rounded up: running out mid-course is the error that costs you the course.

Solution and foam — what each label actually quantifies

The same active ingredient at the same strength, and only one of the two can be divided by anything. Every cell is either a label figure or a statement that no label gives one.

What you need to knowMinoxidil 5% topical solutionNDA 020834 and its genericsMinoxidil 5% topical foamANDA 209074
Amount per application1 mL“one mL with dropper”Not stated“half a capful”
Times a day2“2 times a day”2“2 times a day”
Amount per day2 mLcomputed from the two aboveNot derivableno per-application figure exists
Container60 mL bottle“2 fl oz”60 g can“2.11 oz”
Applications per container60computedNot statedand not derivable
Days per container30 dayscomputed and corroboratedNot derivablenothing to divide the can by
What the carton claims“One Month Supply”checkable against the arithmetic“One Month Supply”the only duration figure there is

The foam column is the honest answer, not a gap we failed to fill. The container is a mass and the dose is a fraction of a cap, and no FDA-approved minoxidil label anywhere converts between the two — not the Sun Pharmaceutical men's foam quoted here, not the women's foam, and not the Rogaine solution that shares the active ingredient. We have deliberately NOT produced a figure by dividing 60 g by thirty days and two applications: the carton's “One Month Supply” is a marketing statement on a package, and reversing it into a per-application dose would present our division as the manufacturer's measurement. If you use the foam and want to know where you are in the can, the can is the only instrument you have. Shake it.

If the dropper is not filled to the 1 mL line

What a different amount per application does to a bottle. Still twice a day, which is what the label directs — only the amount changes.

Per applicationA dayOne 60 mL bottle3-bottle carton180 mLRelation to the label
0.5 mLnot the labelled amount1 mL60 days180 daysUnder-filling the dropper
0.75 mLnot the labelled amount1.5 mL40 days120 daysUnder-filling the dropper
1 mLthe labelled amount2 mL30 days90 daysAs directed
1.25 mLnot the labelled amount2.5 mL24 days72 daysMore than the label directs
1.5 mLnot the labelled amount3 mL20 days60 daysMore than the label directs

Only the 1 mL row is the labelled amount, and the other four are here because bottles do not run out on schedule in real life — not because any of them is an option the label offers. Read the two directions together. Above the line: “using more or more often will not improve results”, so the extra solution buys nothing and is absorbed rather than wasted, which is why chest pain, rapid heartbeat, swelling and unexplained weight gain are on an over-the-counter hair product's Stop use list at all. Below it: the label's efficacy statements, including the 2-month and 4-month timings, are all anchored to twice-daily use of the full millilitre, so a bottle stretched to six weeks is not four months of the treatment that was studied.

Frequently asked questions

How long does a 60 mL bottle of minoxidil last?
Exactly 30 days at the labelled rate, and the label agrees with the arithmetic in two other places. The Directions say “apply one mL with dropper 2 times a day”, which is 2 mL a day; 60 mL divided by that is 30. The Rogaine carton calls a single bottle a “One Month Supply”, and the Perrigo generic's Directions for Use say “Each bottle should last about one month, if used as directed.” That is 60 applications from the bottle, with nothing left over.
How many bottles of minoxidil do I need for 4 months?
Four 60 mL bottles — 240 mL for 120 days at 2 mL a day. Four months matters because it is the label's own decision point: some men “may need to use this product for at least 4 months before you see results”, and the Stop use list includes “you do not see hair regrowth in 4 months”. Buying it as cartons, that is one 3-bottle carton plus one more bottle, or a single 6-bottle carton if you would rather have two months in hand.
How long does a 3-month pack of minoxidil last?
90 days, which is 12 whole weeks and 3 of the 30-day months the carton means. A three-bottle carton is 180 mL and holds 180 applications. The six-bottle carton some generics sell is 360 mL, 180 days and 360 applications — which covers the label's 4-month check with two months to spare.
How long does a can of minoxidil foam last?
No approved label says, and we are not going to guess. The foam's Directions are “apply half a capful 2 times a day to the scalp in the hair loss area”, and a capful is defined by the can's own cap — no FDA-approved minoxidil label anywhere converts half a capful into millilitres or grams. So the 60 g can has nothing to be divided by, and the number of applications in it is not derivable from anything published. The carton does claim “One Month Supply. One 60 g (2.11 oz) Can”, and that claim is the only duration figure the foam has. Every other number on this page is for the solution.
Why did my minoxidil bottle run out early?
Almost always the dropper. At 1 mL a bottle is 30 days; at 1.25 mL it is 24 days and at 1.5 mL only 20. The label anticipates this: “Release the bulb, allowing the dropper to fill to the 1 mL line. If the level of the solution is above the 1 mL line, squeeze the extra amount back into the bottle.” The overfill is not harmless generosity either — “using more or more often will not improve results”, and the extra is absorbed rather than wasted.
Is the 2% minoxidil bottle the same size as the 5%?
Yes. Both are 60 mL, both carry the same “apply one mL with dropper 2 times a day” direction, and both therefore last 30 days a bottle. The strength changes how much drug is in each millilitre, not how many millilitres you apply. The 5% men's label claims a difference in effect and names the population it was shown in: “in clinical studies with mostly white men aged 18-49 years with moderate degrees of hair loss, 5% minoxidil topical solution for men provided more hair regrowth than 2% minoxidil topical solution.”
What happens to my supply if I use minoxidil once a day instead of twice?
A bottle lasts 60 days instead of 30, but that is the wrong way to think about it. Every efficacy statement on the label is anchored to twice-daily use — “Results may occur at 2 months with twice a day usage” — so once daily is not a cheaper version of the same course, it is a regimen the label makes no claim about. If cost is the reason, the six-bottle cartons some generics sell cover 180 days at the full labelled rate.
How much minoxidil do I need to reach 48 weeks?
672 mL, which is 12 bottles over 336 days. Forty-eight weeks is worth budgeting to because it is where the label stops making claims: “hair regrowth has not been shown to last longer than 48 weeks in large clinical trials with continuous treatment with 5% minoxidil topical solution for men.” That is a statement about the length of the trials, not a point at which the drug stops working — but it is the edge of the evidence, and anything past it is unstudied territory rather than a promise.

Sources

  1. [1]MEN’S ROGAINE EXTRA STRENGTH UNSCENTED (minoxidil) 5% topical solution — Drug Facts, Kenvue Brands LLC. Source of “apply one mL with dropper 2 times a day directly onto the scalp in the hair loss area”, “using more or more often will not improve results”, the 2-month and 4-month timings, the 48-week statement, and the carton text “One Month Supply. One 60 mL (2 fl oz) Bottle”. DailyMed, marketing category NDA (NDA 020834)
  2. [2]Minoxidil Foam 5% (For Men) — Drug Facts, Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, Inc. Source of “apply half a capful 2 times a day to the scalp in the hair loss area” and of the carton text “One Month Supply. One 60 g (2.11 oz) Can”. Cited here as the evidence that no volume or mass is given for an application. DailyMed, marketing category ANDA (ANDA 209074)
  3. [3]Good Sense Hair Regrowth Treatment (minoxidil) 5% topical solution — L. Perrigo Company. Source of the Directions for Use statements “Each bottle should last about one month, if used as directed” and “Release the bulb, allowing the dropper to fill to the 1 mL line”, and of the 3-bottle and 6-bottle cartons (NDC 0113-1032-30 and 0113-1032-40). DailyMed, marketing category ANDA (ANDA 075598)
  4. [4]Minoxidil Topical Solution for Men 5% — Walgreens. Cited as a second approved generic carrying the identical 1 mL twice-daily direction and the identical 60 mL bottle, in 1-bottle and 3-bottle cartons. DailyMed, marketing category ANDA (ANDA 075518)
  5. [5]Good Sense Hair Regrowth Treatment (minoxidil) 2% topical solution — L. Perrigo Company. Cited as evidence that the 2% product uses the same 60 mL bottle and the same “apply one mL with dropper 2 times a day” direction as the 5%. DailyMed, marketing category ANDA (ANDA 075357)

Embed this calculator

Free to use on your own site, no permission needed and no account. The widget resizes itself to fit your layout. Keeping the credit line underneath is appreciated, but the calculator works exactly the same if you delete it.

Paste this
<!-- Minoxidil bottle duration calculator — by Alpha Health Finder. Free to embed; keeping the credit line below is appreciated but not required. -->
<iframe src="https://alphahealthfinder.com/embed/tools/minoxidil-bottle-duration"
        title="Minoxidil bottle duration calculator"
        width="100%" height="1780" loading="lazy"
        style="border:1px solid #e2e8f0;border-radius:12px;max-width:680px;width:100%"
        data-ahf-embed="minoxidil-bottle-duration"></iframe>
<p style="max-width:680px;margin:8px 0 0;font:13px/1.5 system-ui,-apple-system,sans-serif;color:#64748b">
  <a href="https://alphahealthfinder.com/tools/minoxidil-bottle-duration">Minoxidil bottle duration calculator</a> by <a href="https://alphahealthfinder.com">Alpha Health Finder</a>
</p>
<script src="https://alphahealthfinder.com/embed/resize.js" async></script>

Next steps

Related calculators

Educational reference, not medical advice. This counts what is in a bottle at a rate you enter; it does not tell you how much to apply. The labelled rate is 1 mL twice a day to the vertex, men only on the men’s products, and both labels add that “using more or more often will not improve results”. The Stop use list includes chest pain, rapid heartbeat, faintness, dizziness, sudden unexplained weight gain and swelling of the hands or feet — minoxidil is a vasodilator and enough of a topical dose is absorbed to matter. Ask a doctor before use if you have heart disease.