Free clinical tool
ED medication, food and alcohol
All four PDE5 labels say the tablet may be taken with or without food, and all four then report something different about what a meal does. The figures, side by side — plus what each label says about alcohol, which is not the same thing twice.
- Reviewed by
- Alpha Health Finder Editorial Team
- Last reviewed
Why “can be taken with food” answers a different question
Every one of the four labels has a short section headed Use with Food, and every one of them says the same thing. Sildenafil: "VIAGRA may be taken with or without food." Vardenafil: "Vardenafil tablets can be taken with or without food." Avanafil: "STENDRA may be taken with or without food." Tadalafil: "CIALIS may be taken without regard to food." Four labels, one instruction, and it is an instruction about permission — whether the tablet may be given with a meal. It is not a statement about what a meal does to the absorption, and those are different questions with four different answers.
Read the pharmacokinetics sections and they separate. Sildenafil is the most affected: "When VIAGRA is taken with a high fat meal, the rate of absorption is reduced, with a mean delay in Tmax of 60 minutes and a mean reduction in Cmax of 29%." Avanafil's peak is pushed back further still but its label calls the change trivial: "When STENDRA (200 mg) is taken with a high fat meal, the rate of absorption is reduced, with a mean delay in Tmax of 1.12 to 1.25 hours and a mean reduction in Cmax of 39% (200 mg). There was an approximate 3.8% decrease in AUC. The small changes in avanafil Cmax and AUC are considered of minimal clinical significance; therefore, STENDRA may be administered with or without food." Vardenafil publishes a fall in peak concentration and, unusually, no delay at all: "Two food-effect studies were conducted which showed that high-fat meals caused a reduction in Cmax by 18% to 50%." And tadalafil is the exception in the other direction: "The rate and extent of absorption of tadalafil are not influenced by food; thus CIALIS may be taken with or without food." So the ranking a reader wants — which one does dinner ruin — is sildenafil and avanafil at the top, vardenafil somewhere unmeasured in the middle, tadalafil not at all.
Here is the part that has to be said before any of those numbers is used, and it is the reason this page exists rather than a simple table. No US PDE5 label states an onset of action as a time. Three of the four give a lead time in the dosage section — "approximately 1 hour", "approximately 60 minutes", "as early as approximately 15 minutes" — and those are instructions about when to swallow the tablet, not measurements of when it starts working. Tadalafil gives no lead time at all, only "prior to anticipated sexual activity". Every time-to-peak figure on this page is a Tmax: the moment plasma concentration is highest, which is a different quantity and usually a later one. A high-fat meal moving sildenafil's median Tmax from 1 hr to 2 hr does not mean the tablet "starts working an hour later". It means the blood level peaks an hour later. The only translation of that into patient language on any of the four labels is on the sildenafil leaflet, and it is deliberately vague: "VIAGRA can be taken with or without food. If you take VIAGRA after a high fat meal (such as a cheeseburger and french fries), VIAGRA may take a little longer to start working". "A little longer" is as precise as an FDA-approved patient leaflet is prepared to be, and this page is not going to be more precise than the label.
One refinement while we are being careful about onset. The avanafil label does contain the phrase — section 14 describes a trial in which "Subjects were encouraged to attempt intercourse approximately 15 minutes after dosing and used a stopwatch for measurement of time to onset of effect, defined as the time to the first occurrence of an erection sufficient for sexual intercourse." It is still not an onset figure: the label reports the percentage of attempts that succeeded at about fifteen minutes, not a time. So the accurate version of the claim is that no label states an onset as a time, and one label studied the question and answered it as a success rate.
Alcohol is the other half of what people actually want to know, and here the four labels genuinely disagree rather than merely differing in emphasis. Tadalafil has a warnings section of its own: "Therefore, physicians should inform patients that substantial consumption of alcohol (e.g., 5 units or greater) in combination with CIALIS can increase the potential for orthostatic signs and symptoms, including increase in heart rate, decrease in standing blood pressure, dizziness, and headache" Avanafil has one too, with a different number: "Therefore, physicians should inform patients that substantial consumption of alcohol (e.g., greater than 3 units) in combination with STENDRA may increase the potential for orthostatic signs and symptoms, including increase in heart rate, decrease in standing blood pressure, dizziness, and headache" Two labels, 3 units and 5 units, for the same kind of statement. The sildenafil and vardenafil labels have no warnings-section entry on alcohol at all, no unit threshold, and nothing about alcohol in their patient leaflets; what they have is an interaction study each, both finding no potentiation at 0.5 g/kg. Two of the four labels name a number of units and two name none. A label that says nothing about how much alcohol is too much is not saying that any amount is safe — it is a label whose sponsor ran one interaction study at one alcohol dose and reported the result. The sildenafil label attaches its own caveat to that result: the 100 mg dose, its own maximum, was not the dose tested.
Two sentences stop that becoming a simple ranking. The tadalafil finding is dose-dependent, not absolute — at 0.7 g/kg orthostatic hypotension was observed, and "When tadalafil 20 mg was administered with a lower dose of alcohol (0.6 g/kg, which is equivalent to approximately 4 ounces of 80-proof vodka, administered in less than 10 minutes), orthostatic hypotension was not observed, dizziness occurred with similar frequency to alcohol alone, and the hypotensive effects of alcohol were not potentiated." And the sildenafil label undercuts its own reassurance in the same paragraph: "The maximum recommended dose of 100 mg sildenafil was not evaluated in this study". The study used 50 mg. The label's maximum is 100 mg. Finally, grapefruit juice: avanafil, vardenafil and tadalafil all name it as a likely CYP3A4 inhibitor and the sildenafil label does not mention it at all — and not one of the three attaches a figure to it.
The formula
fasted peak window = the label’s own time-to-peak range
fed peak window = fasted window + the label’s stated mean
delay in Tmax with a high-fat meal
where the label states no delay → no fed window is computed
where the label states no effect → fed window = fasted window
Tmax ≠ onset. No term above is a time the drug starts working,
because no label states one.
There is deliberately no term for hours since the meal. Each label gives one figure, for a high-fat meal taken with the dose; none of the four models how that effect decays if the tablet is swallowed two or four hours after eating. A curve fitted between "with a meal" and "fasted" would be an invention, so this page gives two states and refuses the continuum between them.
Worked example
Sildenafil 50 mg, planned for an evening that includes dinner:
- Fasted, the label puts the peak at 30 min – 2 hr, median 1 hr: "Maximum observed plasma concentrations are reached within 30 to 120 minutes (median 60 minutes) of oral dosing in the fasted state."
- With a high-fat meal the label adds 1 hr and takes peak concentration down 29% off the peak.
- So the fed peak window is 1 hr 30 min – 3 hr, median 2 hr — the arithmetic is addition and nothing more.
- What that does NOT say: that the tablet starts working an hour later, or that it works less well. The label's own patient translation is "VIAGRA can be taken with or without food. If you take VIAGRA after a high fat meal (such as a cheeseburger and french fries), VIAGRA may take a little longer to start working", and its dosage section still permits the meal outright.
- The same evening on tadalafil changes nothing at all — "The rate and extent of absorption of tadalafil are not influenced by food; thus CIALIS may be taken with or without food." — and on vardenafil the peak is cut by 18% to 50% with no delay stated, so there is no fed window to compute.
- On avanafil the fasted peak is 30 min – 45 min and the fed peak 1 hr 42 min – 1 hr 57 min, a change its own label calls "of minimal clinical significance". And if the dinner comes with 5 or more drinks, the relevant sentence is no longer the food one — it is the alcohol section, which differs by drug and by 2 units between the two labels that give a number.
All four labels permit food — and all four report something different
The left column is the dosage instruction, which is effectively identical across the four. The right column is what the same label then says in its pharmacokinetics section.
| Drug | What the dosage section says | Section | What the pharmacokinetics section then reports |
|---|---|---|---|
| avanafilStendra | “STENDRA may be taken with or without food.” | 2.2 | A high-fat meal delays the peak by about 1 hour; the label calls the change clinically minimal. |
| sildenafilViagra | “VIAGRA may be taken with or without food.” | 2.2 | A high-fat meal pushes the peak back a full hour and cuts it by 29% — the largest food effect of the four. |
| vardenafilLevitra | “Vardenafil tablets can be taken with or without food.” | 2.2 | A high-fat meal cuts the peak by 18–50%. No delay to the peak is stated. |
| tadalafilCialis | “CIALIS may be taken without regard to food.” | 2.5 | Absorption not influenced by food at all |
Permission and pharmacokinetics are two different statements and only one of them is about your evening. Tadalafil is the only drug of the four for which they agree completely: "The rate and extent of absorption of tadalafil are not influenced by food; thus CIALIS may be taken with or without food." For the other three the dosage section says food is allowed and the pharmacokinetics section says food changes the absorption — which is not a contradiction, because a change in absorption is not the same as a change in whether the drug may be given.
Time to peak concentration — fasted against after a high-fat meal
Computed by adding each label’s own stated delay to its own fasted range. This is a peak plasma concentration, not a time the drug starts working — no label states one of those.
| Drug | Fastedlabel range | Medianwhere the label gives one | Delay with a high-fat meal | After a high-fat mealcomputed | Peak concentration change |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| avanafilStendra | 30 min – 45 min | Given as a range | + 1 hr 12 min | 1 hr 42 min – 1 hr 57 min | peak concentration down 39% at 200 mg |
| sildenafilViagra | 30 min – 2 hr | 1 hr | + 1 hr | 1 hr 30 min – 3 hr | peak concentration down 29% |
| tadalafilCialis | 30 min – 6 hr | 2 hr | None — statedlabel says absorption is unaffected | 30 min – 6 hr | No change stated |
| vardenafilLevitra | 30 min – 2 hr | 1 hr | Not statedlabel reports no Tmax delay | Not statedcannot be computed | peak concentration down 18–50% |
The vardenafil row is the one worth pausing on. Its label reports a reduction in peak concentration of 18% to 50% with high-fat meals and states no delay to the peak at all, so the fed column is empty rather than filled with a figure borrowed from one of the other three. Avanafil's label gives its delay as a range — "a mean delay in Tmax of 1.12 to 1.25 hours" — and the 1 hr 12 min used in the arithmetic above sits inside it. The same avanafil label calls its own food effect "of minimal clinical significance".
Alcohol — what each label actually says
Two of the four warn at a named number of units and the two numbers are not the same. The other two name none, which is not the same as saying there is no limit.
| Drug | Warns at | Warnings section | What the label’s own study found | What the patient leaflet says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| avanafilStendra | 3 units | 5.7 Alcohol | Warns above 3 units; an extra 3.5/4.5 mmHg fall at 0.5 g/kg.12.2 Pharmacodynamics | “Do not drink too much alcohol when taking STENDRA (for example, 3 glasses of wine, or 3 shots of whiskey).” |
| sildenafilViagra | No threshold namedsilence, not permission | None | No potentiation at 0.5 g/kg. No threshold named, no leaflet line.7.5 Alcohol | Nothing about alcohol |
| vardenafilLevitra | No threshold namedsilence, not permission | None | No potentiation at 0.5 g/kg, over a 4-hour observation only.7.1 Potential for Pharmacodynamic Interactions with Vardenafil | Nothing about alcohol |
| tadalafilCialis | 5 units | 5.9 Alcohol | Warns at 5 units or more; orthostatic hypotension seen at 0.7 g/kg, not at 0.6.12.2 Pharmacodynamics | “Do not drink too much alcohol when taking CIALIS (for example, 5 glasses of wine or 5 shots of whiskey).” |
The two labels that name a number disagree by 2 units — 3 on the avanafil label against 5 on the tadalafil label — for the same kind of statement about the same class of drug. Two of the four labels name a number of units and two name none. A label that says nothing about how much alcohol is too much is not saying that any amount is safe — it is a label whose sponsor ran one interaction study at one alcohol dose and reported the result. The sildenafil label attaches its own caveat to that result: the 100 mg dose, its own maximum, was not the dose tested. Two further sentences belong beside this table. The tadalafil effect is dose-dependent rather than absolute: "When tadalafil 20 mg was administered with a lower dose of alcohol (0.6 g/kg, which is equivalent to approximately 4 ounces of 80-proof vodka, administered in less than 10 minutes), orthostatic hypotension was not observed, dizziness occurred with similar frequency to alcohol alone, and the hypotensive effects of alcohol were not potentiated." And the reassuring sildenafil result carries the label's own caveat: "The maximum recommended dose of 100 mg sildenafil was not evaluated in this study" — the dose tested was 50 mg, not the 100 mg maximum.
Grapefruit juice — named on three labels, measured on none
The only food other than a high-fat meal that any of the four labels names. Every one of the three that names it hedges in the same way.
| Drug | Named on the label? | What it says | How much it changes exposure |
|---|---|---|---|
| avanafilStendra | Yes — 7.2 | “Although specific interactions have not been studied, other CYP3A4 inhibitors, including grapefruit juice are likely to increase avanafil exposure.” | No figure given |
| sildenafilViagra | No — not mentioned at all | The label does not name grapefruit anywhere | No figure given |
| vardenafilLevitra | Yes — 7.2 | “Although specific interactions have not been studied, other CYP3A4 inhibitors, including grapefruit juice would likely increase vardenafil exposure.” | No figure given |
| tadalafilCialis | Yes — 7.2 | “Although specific interactions have not been studied, other CYP3A4 inhibitors, such as erythromycin, itraconazole, and grapefruit juice, would likely increase tadalafil exposure.” | No figure given |
Three of the four labels name grapefruit juice, and all three name it in the same hedged sentence: interactions with it "have not been studied" and it "would likely" increase exposure. Not one of them gives a figure — no percentage change in Cmax, no change in AUC, no dose adjustment. The sildenafil label does not mention grapefruit at all. So this page states how much grapefruit juice changes a PDE5 dose nowhere, because no label states it. What the same labels DO quantify is the effect of the pharmaceutical CYP3A4 inhibitors they name alongside it — ketoconazole, ritonavir, erythromycin — and those come with dose caps. Grapefruit juice comes with neither a figure nor a cap on any of the four, so the only honest instruction this page can give is to raise it with the prescriber rather than to estimate it here.
Figures this tool will not give you
Printed rather than omitted. A number that is missing and a number that was never obtainable look identical on a page.
| The figure | Why | Status |
|---|---|---|
| How long after a meal it is “safe” to take one | No label models a decaying food effecteach gives one figure for a high-fat meal taken with the dose, and nothing for two or four hours after one | Not stated |
| An onset of action, for any of the four | No label states one as a timethe lead times in the dosage sections are instructions about when to swallow it, and Tmax is a concentration peak | Not stated |
| A delay to vardenafil’s peak with food | Its label reports noneit publishes the fall in peak concentration and no Tmax delay; the other three labels’ figures are not transferable | Not computed |
| How much grapefruit juice raises exposure | Three labels name it, none measures itall three say interactions with it "have not been studied" and that it "would likely" increase exposure | Not stated |
| A safe number of drinks | The labels disagree and two are silent3 units on one label, 5 on another, and no number at all on the remaining two | Not stated |
| Whether food changes whether it works | Different question, no trialthe food figures are pharmacokinetic; the efficacy trials for tadalafil and avanafil explicitly did not restrict food or alcohol at all | Not stated |
The last row is the most useful one. Section 14 of both the tadalafil and the avanafil labels records that in the pivotal efficacy trials "Food and alcohol intake were not restricted." So the results those drugs are licensed on were produced by men who ate and drank normally. That is not a statement that food and alcohol make no difference — it is a statement that the trials were not designed to find out.
Frequently asked questions
- Does food stop Viagra from working?
- No label says so, and all four permit food outright — "VIAGRA may be taken with or without food." What the sildenafil label reports is a change in absorption rather than in effect: "When VIAGRA is taken with a high fat meal, the rate of absorption is reduced, with a mean delay in Tmax of 60 minutes and a mean reduction in Cmax of 29%." That moves the median time to peak concentration from 1 hr to 2 hr and lowers the peak by 29%. The label's own patient leaflet puts it as "VIAGRA can be taken with or without food. If you take VIAGRA after a high fat meal (such as a cheeseburger and french fries), VIAGRA may take a little longer to start working" — qualitatively, with no number, which is as far as the label goes and as far as this page goes.
- Which ED medication is not affected by food?
- Tadalafil, and it is the only one of the four. Its label states it flatly: "The rate and extent of absorption of tadalafil are not influenced by food; thus CIALIS may be taken with or without food." The other three all report something. Sildenafil: a mean delay in Tmax of 60 minutes and a 29% fall in peak concentration with a high-fat meal. Avanafil: a delay of 1.12 to 1.25 hours and a 39% fall at 200 mg, which its label calls "of minimal clinical significance". Vardenafil: a fall in peak concentration of 18% to 50%, with no delay to the peak stated at all.
- How long before eating should I take an ED tablet?
- No label answers this, and the honest answer is that the question does not have a labelled form. Each of the four gives exactly one food figure — for a high-fat meal taken with the dose — and none of them models what happens if the tablet is swallowed two hours after eating, or four. A curve between "with a meal" and "fasted" would be invented rather than sourced, so this page gives the two states the labels give and nothing between them. What the labels do say, all four of them, is that the tablet may be taken with or without food.
- Can I drink alcohol with Viagra or Cialis?
- The labels do not agree, which is itself the answer. Tadalafil warns at 5 units or greater — "Therefore, physicians should inform patients that substantial consumption of alcohol (e.g., 5 units or greater) in combination with CIALIS can increase the potential for orthostatic signs and symptoms, including increase in heart rate, decrease in standing blood pressure, dizziness, and headache" — and tells patients "Do not drink too much alcohol when taking CIALIS (for example, 5 glasses of wine or 5 shots of whiskey)." Avanafil warns two units lower and tells patients "Do not drink too much alcohol when taking STENDRA (for example, 3 glasses of wine, or 3 shots of whiskey)." The sildenafil and vardenafil labels name no threshold and say nothing about alcohol to the patient; each reports one interaction study at 0.5 g/kg finding no potentiation of the hypotensive effect. Two of the four labels name a number of units and two name none. A label that says nothing about how much alcohol is too much is not saying that any amount is safe — it is a label whose sponsor ran one interaction study at one alcohol dose and reported the result. The sildenafil label attaches its own caveat to that result: the 100 mg dose, its own maximum, was not the dose tested. These are prescription medicines and the question belongs with the clinician who prescribed one.
- How much alcohol is too much with tadalafil?
- The CIALIS label names a figure and this page will quote it rather than interpret it: "Therefore, physicians should inform patients that substantial consumption of alcohol (e.g., 5 units or greater) in combination with CIALIS can increase the potential for orthostatic signs and symptoms, including increase in heart rate, decrease in standing blood pressure, dizziness, and headache" Its pharmacology section shows the effect is dose-dependent. At 0.7 g/kg — about 6 ounces of 80-proof vodka in an 80 kg man — "In these two studies, more patients had clinically significant decreases in blood pressure on the combination of tadalafil and alcohol as compared to alcohol alone. Some subjects reported postural dizziness, and orthostatic hypotension was observed in some subjects." At 0.6 g/kg, roughly 4 ounces, "When tadalafil 20 mg was administered with a lower dose of alcohol (0.6 g/kg, which is equivalent to approximately 4 ounces of 80-proof vodka, administered in less than 10 minutes), orthostatic hypotension was not observed, dizziness occurred with similar frequency to alcohol alone, and the hypotensive effects of alcohol were not potentiated." So the label describes a threshold effect around a specific quantity, not a linear one, and it describes it in healthy volunteers rather than in men on blood pressure medication.
- Does grapefruit juice interact with ED medication?
- Three of the four labels say it probably does and not one of them says by how much. Tadalafil: "Although specific interactions have not been studied, other CYP3A4 inhibitors, such as erythromycin, itraconazole, and grapefruit juice, would likely increase tadalafil exposure." Vardenafil and avanafil carry the same construction in their own section 7.2. The sildenafil label does not mention grapefruit anywhere. All three of the sentences hedge identically — the interaction "has not been studied" and would "likely" increase exposure — so no percentage, no dose cap and no avoidance instruction exists on any of them to quote. The pharmaceutical CYP3A4 inhibitors named in the same sentences do come with caps; grapefruit does not.
- Is a delay in Tmax the same as a delay in when it starts working?
- No, and conflating the two is the commonest error on this subject. Tmax is the time at which plasma concentration is highest. A drug is generally doing something well before its peak and continues after it — sildenafil's own label documents an effect out to 4 hours while its median Tmax is 1 hour. No US PDE5 label states an onset of action as a time at all. Three of them give a lead time in the dosage section — approximately 1 hour, approximately 60 minutes, as early as approximately 15 minutes — and those are instructions about when to swallow the tablet, not measurements of when it begins to act. Tadalafil gives no lead time whatsoever, only "prior to anticipated sexual activity".
- Did the trials these drugs were approved on control for food and alcohol?
- Two of the four labels say in terms that they did not. Section 14 of the tadalafil label, describing both the as-needed and the once-daily programmes: "Food and alcohol intake were not restricted." Section 14 of the avanafil label, describing its four pivotal studies: "Food and alcohol intake was not restricted." That cuts both ways and the page states both. The efficacy those two drugs are licensed on was produced by men eating and drinking normally, which is reassuring. It also means the trials were not designed to measure what food or alcohol did, so they cannot be cited as evidence that neither matters.
Sources
- [1]DailyMed — VIAGRA (sildenafil citrate) tablet, film coated, Pfizer Laboratories Div Pfizer Inc. Section 2.2: "VIAGRA may be taken with or without food." Section 12.3: "When VIAGRA is taken with a high fat meal, the rate of absorption is reduced, with a mean delay in Tmax of 60 minutes and a mean reduction in Cmax of 29%." Section 7.5 Alcohol: "In a drug-drug interaction study sildenafil 50 mg given with alcohol 0.5 g/kg in which mean maximum blood alcohol levels of 0.08% was achieved, sildenafil did not potentiate the hypotensive effect of alcohol in healthy volunteers". Section 12.2: "The maximum recommended dose of 100 mg sildenafil was not evaluated in this study". Patient Information: "VIAGRA can be taken with or without food. If you take VIAGRA after a high fat meal (such as a cheeseburger and french fries), VIAGRA may take a little longer to start working". The word grapefruit does not appear anywhere in this label
- [2]DailyMed — CIALIS (tadalafil) tablet, film coated, Eli Lilly and Company. Section 2.5: "CIALIS may be taken without regard to food." Section 12.3: "The rate and extent of absorption of tadalafil are not influenced by food; thus CIALIS may be taken with or without food." Section 5.9 Alcohol: "Therefore, physicians should inform patients that substantial consumption of alcohol (e.g., 5 units or greater) in combination with CIALIS can increase the potential for orthostatic signs and symptoms". Section 12.2: "In these two studies, more patients had clinically significant decreases in blood pressure on the combination of tadalafil and alcohol as compared to alcohol alone." and "When tadalafil 20 mg was administered with a lower dose of alcohol (0.6 g/kg ...), orthostatic hypotension was not observed". Section 7.2 names grapefruit juice. Section 14: "Food and alcohol intake were not restricted."
- [3]DailyMed — VARDENAFIL tablet, film coated, Zydus Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. Section 2.2: "Vardenafil tablets can be taken with or without food." Section 12.3: "Two food-effect studies were conducted which showed that high-fat meals caused a reduction in Cmax by 18% to 50%." — no Tmax delay is stated anywhere in the label. Section 7.1: "Vardenafil (20 mg) did not potentiate the hypotensive effects of alcohol during the 4-hour observation period in healthy volunteers when administered with alcohol (0.5 g/kg body weight, approximately 40 mL of absolute alcohol in a 70 kg person)." Section 7.2 names grapefruit juice. There is no alcohol entry in section 5 and none in the patient leaflet
- [4]DailyMed — STENDRA (avanafil) tablet, Metuchen Pharmaceuticals, LLC. Section 2.2: "STENDRA may be taken with or without food." Section 12.3: "When STENDRA (200 mg) is taken with a high fat meal, the rate of absorption is reduced, with a mean delay in Tmax of 1.12 to 1.25 hours and a mean reduction in Cmax of 39% (200 mg)." and "The small changes in avanafil Cmax and AUC are considered of minimal clinical significance". Section 5.7 Alcohol: "substantial consumption of alcohol (e.g., greater than 3 units) in combination with STENDRA may increase the potential for orthostatic signs and symptoms". Section 12.2: "Additional maximum supine systolic/diastolic blood pressure decreases of 3.5/4.5 mmHg ... were observed when avanafil was taken with alcohol compared to alcohol alone." Section 14 Study 4: "used a stopwatch for measurement of time to onset of effect" and "Food and alcohol intake was not restricted."
Embed this calculator
Free to use on your own site, no permission needed and no account. The widget resizes itself to fit your layout. Keeping the credit line underneath is appreciated, but the calculator works exactly the same if you delete it.
<!-- ED medication, food and alcohol — by Alpha Health Finder. Free to embed; keeping the credit line below is appreciated but not required. -->
<iframe src="https://alphahealthfinder.com/embed/tools/ed-food-interaction-timing"
title="ED medication, food and alcohol"
width="100%" height="1860" loading="lazy"
style="border:1px solid #e2e8f0;border-radius:12px;max-width:680px;width:100%"
data-ahf-embed="ed-food-interaction-timing"></iframe>
<p style="max-width:680px;margin:8px 0 0;font:13px/1.5 system-ui,-apple-system,sans-serif;color:#64748b">
<a href="https://alphahealthfinder.com/tools/ed-food-interaction-timing">ED medication, food and alcohol</a> by <a href="https://alphahealthfinder.com">Alpha Health Finder</a>
</p>
<script src="https://alphahealthfinder.com/embed/resize.js" async></script>Next steps
- ED medication timing planner
- Tadalafil daily vs as needed
- ED medication comparison chart
- ED medication cost per dose
- Sexual health treatment options
Related calculators
- ED medication onset and duration plannerOnset and duration for all four ED tablets on one timeline, read off the FDA labels — plus when to take yours.
- ED Medication Cost Per DoseCost per dose, not per tablet, for all four PDE5 inhibitors — at the acquisition price CMS actually publishes.
- PDE5 Inhibitor Dose EquivalenceNo conversion table exists between the four ED tablets. What each label states instead, and why the ratio everyone repeats is arithmetic on round numbers.
- Tadalafil daily vs as neededOnce-daily against as-needed tadalafil, from one FDA label — cost, coverage, and the labelled rules that are not the same for both.
- Free Testosterone CalculatorFree and bioavailable testosterone from total T, SHBG and albumin. Vermeulen method, with the full conversion chart.
- Bacteriostatic Water CalculatorHow much bacteriostatic water to add, the concentration it produces, units per dose and doses per vial. With the full mixing chart.
Educational reference, not medical advice. These are prescription-only medicines and nothing here is a recommendation to take one, to eat before one or to drink alongside one. Every time on this page is a time to peak plasma concentration, not a time the drug starts working; no US PDE5 label states an onset of action. All four labels contraindicate concomitant use with organic nitrates or nitric oxide donors in any form — nitroglycerin, isosorbide mononitrate or dinitrate, and amyl or butyl nitrite "poppers". A PDE5 inhibitor taken with a nitrate can drop blood pressure to a dangerous level. Guanylate cyclase stimulators such as riociguat are contraindicated on all four labels as well. Alcohol and PDE5 inhibitors are both vasodilators and two of the four labels warn about the combination at a named quantity. If you take a blood pressure medicine, an alpha-blocker or a CYP3A4 inhibitor, the interaction that matters to you is probably not the meal — speak to the clinician who prescribed it.