ALPHA

Free clinical tool

Tadalafil daily vs as needed

The only PDE5 comparison that is actually labelled: four numbered regimens on one CIALIS label, compared on what the label separates — cost, coverage and the renal, hepatic and CYP3A4 rules that differ — and not on efficacy, because no trial compares them.

Reviewed by
Alpha Health Finder Editorial Team
Last reviewed

Why this comparison is sourceable when the others are not

Ask which PDE5 inhibitor equals which and there is no answer: no FDA label, no guideline and no trial states an equivalence between sildenafil, tadalafil, vardenafil and avanafil, which is why this site's dose-equivalence page refuses to print one. Daily against as-needed tadalafil is the single exception in the whole vertical. Both regimens live on one label, written by one sponsor, for one molecule, each with its own numbered dosage section and its own titration sentence. Nothing has to be inferred across labels, so nothing has to be invented.

There are four of them, not two. Section 2.1 is the as-needed regimen for erectile dysfunction: "The recommended starting dose of CIALIS for use as needed in most patients is 10 mg, taken prior to anticipated sexual activity." with the ladder "The dose may be increased to 20 mg or decreased to 5 mg, based on individual efficacy and tolerability." Section 2.2 is the once-daily regimen for ED: "The recommended starting dose of CIALIS for once daily use is 2.5 mg, taken at approximately the same time every day, without regard to timing of sexual activity." and then "The CIALIS dose for once daily use may be increased to 5 mg, based on individual efficacy and tolerability." Section 2.3 is a separate indication entirely — benign prostatic hyperplasia — at "The recommended dose of CIALIS for once daily use is 5 mg, taken at approximately the same time every day." And section 2.4, which almost nobody quotes, covers the two conditions together at 5 mg daily. That fourth section matters because a large share of the men reading this have both.

What separates the two ED regimens is not efficacy. Section 14 of the label describes seven placebo-controlled trials of the as-needed regimen, three of the once-daily regimen, three for BPH and one for ED with BPH — fourteen trials, every one against placebo, not one against the other regimen. This page therefore states no efficacy difference between them, in either direction. Nor does the label state a criterion for choosing: it names no frequency of sexual activity, no symptom pattern and no patient type that indicates one over the other. The nearest it comes is section 2.1, immediately after the 36-hour statement: "Therefore, when advising patients on optimal use of CIALIS, this should be taken into consideration." That is an instruction to the prescriber, not a rule this page will convert into one.

What does separate them is coverage, and the coverage figure is one number: "CIALIS for use as needed was shown to improve erectile function compared to placebo up to 36 hours following dosing." Thirty-six hours is how long a single as-needed dose was still beating placebo on an erectile-function score. It is not a 36-hour erection, it is not a guarantee for any individual, and an erection lasting more than four hours is an emergency on all four PDE5 labels. Thirty-six hours is a day and a half, so 21 well-spread as-needed doses would put an average 30.4-day month inside a labelled window — while a once-daily tablet covers every day by construction, once it has had 5 days to get there: "Steady-state plasma concentrations are attained within 5 days of once per day dosing and exposure is approximately 1.6-fold greater than after a single dose." A daily regimen is not instant, and that lag is the cost of the coverage.

And cost, which is the half of the question people actually mean. At the CMS acquisition rate of 16 September 2026, 5 mg once daily is $3.11 a month and $37.29 a year of drug, flat. 20 mg as needed is $0.15815 a dose, so the two lines cross at 19.6 doses a month. Put the two crossings side by side and the whole comparison collapses into one observation: the frequency at which as-needed stops being cheaper, about 19.6 doses, is almost exactly the frequency at which it stops leaving gaps, about 21. Below roughly twenty doses a month as-needed is cheaper and leaves days uncovered; above it, daily is cheaper and does not. There is no region where one is cheaper AND more continuous.

One more thing the label decides for you. Section 2 opens, in bold, before a single dose is named: "Do not split CIALIS tablets; entire dose should be taken." Every generic tadalafil label checked for this site repeats it with the brand name swapped: "Do not split tadalafil tablets; entire dose should be taken." So the obvious saving — buy 20 mg tablets, halve them into 10 mg doses — is not available, and no figure on this page is ever half of another figure.

The formula

once daily cost per month = NADAC per tablet × 365 ÷ 12

cost per year = NADAC per tablet × 365

as needed cost per month = NADAC per tablet × doses per month

cost per year = cost per month × 12

break-even doses per month = daily cost per month

÷ as-needed cost per dose

labelled window days covered = min(365 ÷ 12, doses × 36 ÷ 24)

doses to span a month = ⌈(365 ÷ 12) ÷ (36 ÷ 24)⌉

There is no term for a half tablet, and the absence is the point — the label prohibits splitting, so a dose is composed of whole tablets or it is not priced at all. A once-daily tablet is counted in 365 days a year rather than in 52 weeks, because for a daily medicine the 365th day is a real tablet. The window arithmetic assumes doses spread far enough apart not to overlap, which is the best case rather than the expected one; it is arithmetic on the label's 36-hour efficacy window and describes no individual evening.

Worked example

A man taking 20 mg as needed 8 times a month, wondering whether 5 mg daily would cost more:

  • The 16 September 2026 NADAC file prices generic tadalafil 20 mg at $0.15815 a tablet and 5 mg at $0.10216 a tablet.
  • 8 as-needed doses = 8 × $0.15815 = $1.27 a month, $15.18 a year.
  • Once daily = $0.10216 × 365 ÷ 12 = $3.11 a month, $37.29 a year — $1.84 a month more at this frequency.
  • Break-even = $3.11 ÷ $0.15815 = 19.6 as-needed doses a month. Below that, as needed is cheaper on drug; above it, daily is.
  • Coverage at 8 doses = 8 × 36 hours = 12.0 days of an average 30.4-day month inside a labelled window, leaving 18.4 days outside one. The daily tablet leaves none, after 5 days to reach steady state at about 1.6× single-dose exposure.
  • What the arithmetic cannot tell him is which regimen suits him, because the label compares them nowhere. It can tell him that at 8 doses a month the whole difference in drug cost is $22.11 a year — less than the consultation fee on either regimen.

Every tadalafil regimen the CIALIS label carries

Four numbered regimens, not two. Read down the left for the indication; the dose column is the label's own ladder for that section.

RegimenDoselabel ladderWhen to take itMaximum frequencyLabel section
As needed, EDErectile dysfunction5 mg / 10 mg / 20 mgstart 10 mgBefore anticipated sexual activity, no more than once per dayOnce per day2.1CIALIS for Use as Needed for Erectile Dysfunction
Once daily, EDErectile dysfunction2.5 mg / 5 mgstart 2.5 mg, may increase to 5 mgAt approximately the same time every day, without regard to timing of sexual activityOne tablet a day2.2CIALIS for Once Daily Use for Erectile Dysfunction
Once daily, BPHBenign prostatic hyperplasia5 mgstart 5 mgAt approximately the same time every dayOne tablet a day2.3CIALIS for Once Daily Use for Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia
Once daily, ED + BPHErectile dysfunction and benign prostatic hyperplasia together5 mgstart 5 mgAt approximately the same time every day, without regard to timing of sexual activityOne tablet a day2.4CIALIS for Once Daily Use for Erectile Dysfunction and Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia

Sections 2.3 and 2.4 are different sections with different wording and different trials behind them — 14.3 for BPH alone and 14.4 for ED with BPH — which is why both appear here. Section 2.3 adds one more instruction that the others do not: "When therapy for BPH is initiated with CIALIS and finasteride, the recommended dose of CIALIS for once daily use is 5 mg, taken at approximately the same time every day for up to 26 weeks." The once-daily ED ladder stops at 5 mg; section 14.2 records that the once-daily trials themselves ran "at doses ranging from 2.5 to 10 mg", so a dose studied is not the same thing as a dose licensed.

Tadalafil cost per month and per year — daily against as needed

Drug only, at the CMS acquisition rate of 16 September 2026. The as-needed rows assume 8 doses a month; the daily rows assume a tablet every day, which is what the regimen is.

Regimen and doseTablets per dosePer doseTablets a yearA monthA year
Once daily 2.5 mglabelled starting dose1 × 2.5 mg$0.11639365 a yearevery day, at steady state$3.54$42.48
Once daily 5 mglabelled maintenance dose1 × 5 mg$0.10216365 a yearevery day, at steady state$3.11$37.29
As needed 5 mg1 × 5 mg$0.1021696 a year8 doses a month$0.82$9.81
As needed 10 mglabelled starting dose1 × 10 mg$0.1574896 a year8 doses a month$1.26$15.12
As needed 20 mg1 × 20 mg$0.1581596 a year8 doses a month$1.27$15.18

The counter-intuitive row is the first one. The once-daily STARTING dose costs more per month than the once-daily maintenance dose — $3.54 against $3.11, a gap of $0.43 a month — because the 16 September 2026 file prices the 2.5 mg tablet at $0.11639 and the 5 mg tablet at $0.10216. Titrating up makes the month cheaper. None of these is a retail price: NADAC is what a retail pharmacy reported paying on invoice, before any dispensing fee, markup, consultation or shipping.

Where daily overtakes as needed — cost and coverage on one table

Read down for how often you would actually take a dose. The last column is arithmetic on the label's 36-hour window, not a promise about any evening.

As-needed doses a monthAs needed 20 mga monthOnce daily 5 mga monthCheaper on drugDays inside a labelled windowas neededDays outside one
1$0.16$3.11As needed1.5 days28.9 days
2$0.32$3.11As needed3.0 days27.4 days
4$0.63$3.11As needed6.0 days24.4 days
6$0.95$3.11As needed9.0 days21.4 days
8$1.27$3.11As needed12.0 days18.4 days
12$1.90$3.11As needed18.0 days12.4 days
16$2.53$3.11As needed24.0 days6.4 days
20$3.16$3.11Once daily30.0 days0.4 days
21spans the month$3.32$3.11Once daily30.4 days0.0 days
24$3.80$3.11Once daily30.4 days0.0 days
30all but one day$4.74$3.11Once daily30.4 days0.0 days

Two crossings, and they land in almost the same place. On price, 20 mg as needed overtakes 5 mg daily at 19.6 doses a month. On the label's own 36-hour window, 21 spread-out doses would span an average month of 30.4 days. So by the point the as-needed regimen costs more than the daily one, it is also very nearly being taken every other day anyway — which is the honest answer to "which is cheaper" and is not the answer either marketing page gives. At 5 mg the crossing moves to 30.4 doses a month, because 5 mg as needed and 5 mg daily are literally the same tablet at the same rate; at 10 mg it is 19.7.

What the label says differently about each regimen

Neither cost nor efficacy. These are the labelled restrictions that are not the same for the two regimens, mostly buried in sections 2.6 and 2.7.

SituationAs neededsection 2.1Once dailysections 2.2 to 2.4Same rule?
Creatinine clearance 30 to 50 mL/minStart at 5 mg, maximum 10 mg every 48 hours2.6 Use in Specific PopulationsFor BPH and for ED with BPH, start at 2.5 mg2.6 Use in Specific PopulationsNo
Creatinine clearance below 30 mL/min, or on haemodialysisStill permitted, capped at 5 mg every 72 hours2.6 Use in Specific PopulationsNot recommended at all2.6 Use in Specific PopulationsNo
Mild or moderate hepatic impairment (Child Pugh A or B)Capped at 10 mg once per day2.6 Use in Specific PopulationsNo cap given — the label says it has not been extensively evaluated2.6 Use in Specific PopulationsNo
A potent CYP3A4 inhibitor — ketoconazole, ritonavir, itraconazoleMaximum 10 mg, no more than once every 72 hours2.7 Concomitant MedicationsMaximum 2.5 mg — the starting dose becomes the ceiling2.7 Concomitant MedicationsNo
On an alpha-blockerFor ED, be stable on the alpha-blocker first and start at the lowest recommended dose2.7 Concomitant MedicationsFor BPH, the combination is not recommended2.7 Concomitant MedicationsNo
Time before the regimen is doing all it will doOne dose; median 2 hours to peak concentration12.3 PharmacokineticsFive days to steady state, at about 1.6 times single-dose exposure12.3 PharmacokineticsNo
Splitting a tablet to make the doseProhibited2 Dosage and AdministrationProhibited — the same sentence governs both2 Dosage and AdministrationYes
FoodNo restriction2.5 Use with FoodNo restriction — one sentence covers every regimen2.5 Use with FoodYes
NitratesContraindicated; at least 48 hours before a nitrate is even considered7.1 Potential for Pharmacodynamic Interactions with CIALISIdentical, and a daily tablet means the 48 hours never elapses4.1 NitratesYes
Maximum frequencyOnce per day2.1 CIALIS for Use as Needed for Erectile DysfunctionOnce per day, by definition2.2 CIALIS for Once Daily Use for Erectile DysfunctionYes

6 of these 10 rules differ by regimen. The sharpest is renal: below a creatinine clearance of 30 mL/min, or on haemodialysis, the as-needed regimen is still permitted at 5 mg every 72 hours while the once-daily regimen "is not recommended" at all. The second sharpest is CYP3A4: a potent inhibitor caps the as-needed dose at 10 mg every 72 hours and caps the once-daily dose at 2.5 mg, which is the once-daily starting dose — the ceiling and the floor become the same number. None of this is on a pricing page anywhere, and all of it outranks price.

Figures this tool will not give you

Printed rather than omitted, because a number that is missing and a number that was never obtainable look identical on a page.

The figureWhyStatus
Which regimen works betterNo head-to-head existsevery trial in section 14 is against placebo, none against the other regimenNot stated
How often you should be having sex to justify dailyThe label names no frequencyno symptom pattern, no activity threshold, no patient type is given for either regimenNot stated
An onset of action for either regimenNo label states onesection 2.1 says only "prior to anticipated sexual activity"; the 2-hour figure is a median TmaxNot stated
Cost of half a 20 mg tabletSplitting is prohibitedsection 2 opens with "Do not split CIALIS tablets; entire dose should be taken." before any dose is namedNot computed
What you will actually be chargedNo public dataset records itNADAC is an acquisition floor with no dispensing fee, markup, consultation or shipping in itNot stated
Whether daily dosing is safer long termDifferent question, different evidencethe label reports adverse reactions per regimen but runs no comparison between themNot stated

Six refusals against four printed comparisons is roughly the ratio an honest version of this page has. The commonest thing a competitor prints here is a recommendation dressed as a fact — "daily is better if you have sex more than twice a week" — and that sentence appears on no FDA label.

Frequently asked questions

Is daily tadalafil better than taking it as needed?
No source this page could open says so, in either direction. Section 14 of the CIALIS label describes fourteen clinical trials across the four regimens — seven of the as-needed regimen, three of once-daily for ED, three for BPH and one for ED with BPH — and every one of them is placebo-controlled. Not one compares the two regimens with each other, so there is no efficacy difference to report and this page reports none. The label also names no criterion for choosing: no frequency of sexual activity, no symptom pattern, no patient type. What it does separate them on is coverage, cost, and a set of renal, hepatic and CYP3A4 rules that genuinely differ.
Is daily tadalafil cheaper than as needed?
Only above about twenty doses a month, and the crossover is computable. At the CMS acquisition rate of 16 September 2026, tadalafil 5 mg once daily costs $3.11 a month — $37.29 a year — and does not change with frequency. Tadalafil 20 mg as needed is $0.15815 a dose, so the lines cross at 19.6 doses a month; at 10 mg they cross at 19.7. At 5 mg they cross at 30.4 — effectively every day — because 5 mg as needed and 5 mg daily are the same tablet at the same rate. These are acquisition costs, not retail prices, and the label mentions cost nowhere.
What dose of tadalafil is taken daily?
The label carries three once-daily doses for three different purposes. For erectile dysfunction: "The recommended starting dose of CIALIS for once daily use is 2.5 mg, taken at approximately the same time every day, without regard to timing of sexual activity." and then "The CIALIS dose for once daily use may be increased to 5 mg, based on individual efficacy and tolerability." For benign prostatic hyperplasia: "The recommended dose of CIALIS for once daily use is 5 mg, taken at approximately the same time every day." And for a man with both conditions, section 2.4 gives 5 mg once daily. Note what that means at the pharmacy: the 2.5 mg once-daily starting dose is not a strength on the CIALIS label at all — that label lists 5 mg, 10 mg and 20 mg tablets — and the 2.5 mg tablet is supplied as a generic.
How many days a month does as-needed tadalafil actually cover?
Take the label's own number and multiply. "CIALIS for use as needed was shown to improve erectile function compared to placebo up to 36 hours following dosing." Thirty-six hours is 1.5 days, so 8 well-spaced doses put 12.0 days of an average 30.4-day month inside a labelled window and leave 18.4 days outside one, and 21 doses would span the month. Two caveats that matter more than the arithmetic: 36 hours is how long one dose was still beating placebo on an erectile-function score, not a 36-hour erection and not a promise for any individual; and an erection lasting more than four hours is an emergency on all four PDE5 labels.
How long does daily tadalafil take to work?
The label gives a pharmacokinetic answer and refuses the clinical one. "Steady-state plasma concentrations are attained within 5 days of once per day dosing and exposure is approximately 1.6-fold greater than after a single dose." — so about 5 days before a daily regimen is doing everything it is going to do, at roughly 1.6 times the exposure of a single dose. Neither regimen has a labelled onset of action. The CIALIS dosage section says only "prior to anticipated sexual activity" and names no lead time at all; the two-hour figure on this page is a median time to peak plasma concentration from section 12.3, which is a different thing and is printed as such. The widely repeated "tadalafil works in 30 minutes" appears nowhere on the CIALIS label in any form, and this site does not print it on any page.
Can I split a 20 mg tadalafil tablet into two 10 mg doses?
No, and this is the one question on the page the label answers flatly. Section 2, Dosage and Administration, opens in bold before any dose is named with: "Do not split CIALIS tablets; entire dose should be taken." Six generic tadalafil labels checked for this site carry the same sentence with the brand name swapped — "Do not split tadalafil tablets; entire dose should be taken." — and every Structured Product Label read declares the FDA Score characteristic as one piece, meaning no score line. So no figure anywhere on this page is half of another figure, and a saving that requires halving a tablet is not a saving this site will compute.
Are there reasons other than cost to pick one regimen over the other?
Yes, and they are the part nobody prints. 6 of the 10 labelled rules compared on this page are not the same for the two regimens. With a creatinine clearance below 30 mL/min or on haemodialysis, the as-needed regimen is capped at 5 mg every 72 hours while once-daily use "is not recommended" at all. On a potent CYP3A4 inhibitor such as ketoconazole or ritonavir, the as-needed maximum is 10 mg every 72 hours and the once-daily maximum is 2.5 mg. In mild or moderate hepatic impairment the as-needed dose is capped at 10 mg a day while the once-daily regimen simply "has not been extensively evaluated". And for BPH the label says CIALIS "is not recommended for use in combination with alpha-blockers".
Does taking tadalafil every day change the nitrate rule?
It makes it permanent, which is the thing worth understanding before starting. All four PDE5 labels contraindicate organic nitrates in any form, and tadalafil's is the strictest on timing: "In a patient who has taken CIALIS, where nitrate administration is deemed medically necessary in a life-threatening situation, at least 48 hours should elapse after the last dose of CIALIS before nitrate administration is considered." On an as-needed regimen there are days when the last dose was more than 48 hours ago. On a once-daily regimen there are not. That is not a reason against daily dosing — it is a fact a man with, or at risk of, angina should be told before he chooses, and no cost table anywhere mentions it.

Sources

  1. [1]DailyMed — CIALIS (tadalafil) tablet, film coated, Eli Lilly and Company. Section 2 opens "Do not split CIALIS tablets; entire dose should be taken." Section 2.1: "The recommended starting dose of CIALIS for use as needed in most patients is 10 mg, taken prior to anticipated sexual activity." Section 2.2: "The recommended starting dose of CIALIS for once daily use is 2.5 mg, taken at approximately the same time every day, without regard to timing of sexual activity." Section 2.3: "The recommended dose of CIALIS for once daily use is 5 mg, taken at approximately the same time every day." Section 2.4: "The recommended dose of CIALIS for once daily use is 5 mg, taken at approximately the same time every day, without regard to timing of sexual activity."
  2. [2]DailyMed — CIALIS, the same label, sections 2.6 and 2.7, from which the renal, hepatic and CYP3A4 differences are taken. Section 2.6: "Creatinine clearance less than 30 mL/min or on hemodialysis: The maximum dose is 5 mg not more than once in every 72 hours" for use as needed, against "Creatinine clearance less than 30 mL/min or on hemodialysis: CIALIS for once daily use is not recommended". Section 2.7: "For patients taking concomitant potent inhibitors of CYP3A4, such as ketoconazole or ritonavir, the maximum recommended dose of CIALIS is 10 mg, not to exceed once every 72 hours" against "the maximum recommended dose is 2.5 mg" for once daily use
  3. [3]DailyMed — CIALIS, the same label, section 12.3: "Steady-state plasma concentrations are attained within 5 days of once per day dosing and exposure is approximately 1.6-fold greater than after a single dose." Section 2.1: "CIALIS for use as needed was shown to improve erectile function compared to placebo up to 36 hours following dosing. Therefore, when advising patients on optimal use of CIALIS, this should be taken into consideration." Section 14 describes fourteen trials across the four regimens, all placebo-controlled, none comparing the regimens with each other
  4. [4]DailyMed — TADALAFIL tablet, Ajanta Pharma USA Inc. Section 2 Dosage and Administration opens: "Do not split Tadalafil tablets; entire dose should be taken." The same sentence opens section 2 of the Teva, Accord, Torrent, Solco and Alembic generic tadalafil labels, and Product Characteristics declare Score: 1
  5. [5]CMS Medicaid — National Average Drug Acquisition Cost (NADAC) dataset landing page, with the methodology and the definitions of NADAC Per Unit, Pricing Unit, Classification for Rate Setting and the explanation codes
  6. [6]CMS Medicaid — the NADAC weekly file of 16 September 2026, the source of every rate on this page: generic tadalafil at $0.11639 for 2.5 mg, $0.10216 for 5 mg, $0.15748 for 10 mg and $0.15815 for 20 mg per tablet
  7. [7]FDA — Tablet Splitting: "If a tablet is FDA-approved to be split, this information will be printed in the “HOW SUPPLIED” section of the professional label insert and in the patient package insert." and "If a tablet does not include such information in the label, FDA has not evaluated it to ensure that the two halves of a split tablet are the same in weight or drug content or work the same way in the body as the whole tablet."

Embed this calculator

Free to use on your own site, no permission needed and no account. The widget resizes itself to fit your layout. Keeping the credit line underneath is appreciated, but the calculator works exactly the same if you delete it.

Paste this
<!-- Tadalafil daily vs as needed — by Alpha Health Finder. Free to embed; keeping the credit line below is appreciated but not required. -->
<iframe src="https://alphahealthfinder.com/embed/tools/tadalafil-daily-vs-ondemand"
        title="Tadalafil daily vs as needed"
        width="100%" height="1840" loading="lazy"
        style="border:1px solid #e2e8f0;border-radius:12px;max-width:680px;width:100%"
        data-ahf-embed="tadalafil-daily-vs-ondemand"></iframe>
<p style="max-width:680px;margin:8px 0 0;font:13px/1.5 system-ui,-apple-system,sans-serif;color:#64748b">
  <a href="https://alphahealthfinder.com/tools/tadalafil-daily-vs-ondemand">Tadalafil daily vs as needed</a> by <a href="https://alphahealthfinder.com">Alpha Health Finder</a>
</p>
<script src="https://alphahealthfinder.com/embed/resize.js" async></script>

Next steps

Related calculators

Educational reference, not medical advice. Tadalafil is a prescription-only medicine and this page compares regimens, not whether to take one. No figure here is an efficacy claim: no trial on the CIALIS label compares the once-daily regimen with the as-needed regimen, and this page states no difference between them. NADAC is what a pharmacy paid, not what you will be charged. CIALIS tablets must not be split. All four PDE5 labels contraindicate concomitant use with organic nitrates in any form, and tadalafil’s label requires at least 48 hours to elapse before a nitrate is even considered. Which regimen, which dose and whether either is appropriate are decisions for the clinician who prescribes them.