Free clinical tool
Haematocrit and blood donation planner
Where your haematocrit (hematocrit) sits against the numbers the AUA guideline actually prints, whether it clears the federal blood-donor floor, and the earliest date the regulation lets you give again. Two different rulebooks, kept apart.
- Reviewed by
- Alpha Health Finder Editorial Team
- Last reviewed
Two rulebooks, written by different people, for different reasons
Erythrocytosis — a rising red cell mass, and with it a rising haematocrit — is the commonest clinically significant adverse effect of testosterone therapy, and every approved testosterone label in the United States tells the prescriber to watch for it. The Depo-Testosterone label puts it plainly: "Hemoglobin and hematocrit levels (to detect polycythemia) should be checked periodically in patients receiving long-term androgen administration." What no approved testosterone label does — not Depo-Testosterone, not XYOSTED, not JATENZO, not KYZATREX, not TLANDO, not AVEED — is state a number. Every one of them says to stop "if hematocrit becomes elevated" and restart when it "decreases to an acceptable level", and every one of them leaves both words undefined.
The numbers that circulate come from guidelines, and the guideline that prints them is the American Urological Association's. It gives three. It defines the word — "Polycythemia, sometimes called erythrocytosis, is generally defined as a hematocrit (Hct) >52%" — it sets a pre-treatment mark of >50%, and it sets an on-treatment one: "While on testosterone therapy, a Hct ≥54% warrants intervention." Read the next clause of that sentence, because it is the one left out of every forum post: "In men with high on-treatment testosterone levels, dose adjustment should be attempted as first-line management." The guideline's follow-up table adds the target — measure "every 6-12 months or sooner depending on prior values to maintain hematocrit levels below 54%".
The Endocrine Society's 2018 guideline is the other one usually cited, and this page will not put a number next to its name. Its published abstract lists "elevated hematocrit" among the conditions in which it recommends against starting testosterone, and among the things to monitor it names "measuring serum T and hematocrit concentrations" — with no figure attached to either. The full guideline is behind a subscription and we did not open it, so we are not going to tell you what is in it. If you see 54% attributed to the Endocrine Society somewhere, that is a claim about a document; ask whoever made it which page.
Now the second rulebook, which is not about treatment at all. To give blood in the United States you have to clear a floor set by federal regulation: 21 CFR 630.10(f)(3)(i)(B) requires a male allogeneic donor to have a haemoglobin of at least 13 g/dL or a haematocrit of at least 39 percent. That is a MINIMUM, written to protect the donor from being bled while anaemic and to make sure the unit is worth transfusing. It is not a statement that anyone above it ought to donate, and there is no federal maximum at all — the only published ceiling found anywhere is the American Red Cross's, "Blood donors must have a minimum of 12.5 g/dL hemoglobin but no greater than 20 g/dL.", and it is a haemoglobin figure with no haematocrit equivalent given. A man at 55% clears the donor floor by a wide margin. That fact tells him nothing whatsoever about his 55%.
And here is the figure this page does not have. How far does one donation move a haematocrit? Nothing fetched for this page publishes it — not the regulation, not the AUA guideline, not any approved testosterone label. So the planner half of this tool plans dates, not numbers: it adds the 8 weeks the regulation permits between whole-blood collections and tells you the earliest day you could give again. It will not draw you a line from 55% down to a target, because that line would be invented.
The last thing worth knowing is that the regulation itself distinguishes the two activities, and the distinguishing word is "prescription". Collections closer together than 8 weeks are permitted only for a therapeutic phlebotomy, and only "under a prescription to promote the donor's health", with the container labelled with the condition that necessitated it. Turning up at a blood drive every eight weeks to manage a lab value is not that procedure. Therapeutic phlebotomy for testosterone-induced erythrocytosis is a clinical decision with a prescriber attached; it is the thing the regulation carves out, not the thing it makes self-service.
The formula
Clinical marks — American Urological Association, 2018
baseline Hct > 50% withhold until the cause is explained
polycythemia Hct > 52% the guideline's definition of the word
on treatment Hct ≥ 54% "warrants intervention"; dose adjustment first
Donor floor — 21 CFR 630.10(f)(3)(i)(B), male allogeneic
Hgb ≥ 13 g/dL OR Hct ≥ 39% (either one qualifies)
Donor ceiling — American Red Cross
Hgb ≤ 20 g/dL Hct ceiling: none published
Interval — 21 CFR 630.15(a)(1)(i)
next whole blood = last donation + 8 weeks = + 56 days
next double reds = last donation + 16 weeks = + 112 days
Drop in haematocrit per donation = NOT PUBLISHED. No figure is given.
The two blocks never combine. Nothing converts a haemoglobin into a haematocrit here: the regulation states both limits separately and joins them with "or", so this page runs two independent tests rather than one derived from the other. The "multiply haemoglobin by three" rule of thumb appears in none of these sources.
Worked example
A man on testosterone whose panel reads haematocrit 55%, haemoglobin 18.2 g/dL, last whole-blood donation Thu, Mar 5, 2026:
- 55% is above the AUA's >50% baseline mark, above its >52% definition of polycythemia, and at or above its ≥54% on-treatment mark — the only one of the three with an instruction attached.
- That instruction, verbatim: "While on testosterone therapy, a Hct ≥54% warrants intervention. In men with high on-treatment testosterone levels, dose adjustment should be attempted as first-line management." The guideline's first-line answer is a change to the dose, not a trip to a blood drive.
- Separately, 55% is 16 points above the 39% federal donor floor, and 18.2 g/dL is 5.2 g/dL above the 13 g/dL alternative — and 1.8 g/dL below the Red Cross's 20 g/dL ceiling. He passes that screen on this criterion. Passing it is not advice to use it.
- Earliest next whole-blood collection: Thu, Mar 5, 2026 + 56 days = Thu, Apr 30, 2026.
- What his haematocrit would read afterwards: not stated. No source fetched for this page publishes a drop per donation, and none is estimated here.
- Which means the useful output of this worked example is a conversation, not a number: he is above the one mark the guideline acts on, and the guideline's own first move is his prescriber's, not his.
Haematocrit chart — every published mark, and which side of it you are on
Find your haematocrit down the left. The first three columns are clinical marks from the AUA guideline; the fourth is a federal donor floor and is a different kind of rule entirely.
| Haematocrit | AUA baselinebefore starting | AUA definitionof polycythemia | AUA on treatment"warrants intervention" | Federal donor floormale allogeneic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 38% | Not reached> 50% | Not reached> 52% | Not reached≥ 54% | Below it≥ 39% |
| 39% | Not reached> 50% | Not reached> 52% | Not reached≥ 54% | Clears it≥ 39% |
| 42% | Not reached> 50% | Not reached> 52% | Not reached≥ 54% | Clears it≥ 39% |
| 45% | Not reached> 50% | Not reached> 52% | Not reached≥ 54% | Clears it≥ 39% |
| 48% | Not reached> 50% | Not reached> 52% | Not reached≥ 54% | Clears it≥ 39% |
| 50% | Not reached> 50% | Not reached> 52% | Not reached≥ 54% | Clears it≥ 39% |
| 51% | At or past it> 50% | Not reached> 52% | Not reached≥ 54% | Clears it≥ 39% |
| 52% | At or past it> 50% | Not reached> 52% | Not reached≥ 54% | Clears it≥ 39% |
| 53% | At or past it> 50% | At or past it> 52% | Not reached≥ 54% | Clears it≥ 39% |
| 54% | At or past it> 50% | At or past it> 52% | At or past it≥ 54% | Clears it≥ 39% |
| 55% | At or past it> 50% | At or past it> 52% | At or past it≥ 54% | Clears it≥ 39% |
| 56% | At or past it> 50% | At or past it> 52% | At or past it≥ 54% | Clears it≥ 39% |
| 58% | At or past it> 50% | At or past it> 52% | At or past it≥ 54% | Clears it≥ 39% |
| 60% | At or past it> 50% | At or past it> 52% | At or past it≥ 54% | Clears it≥ 39% |
Read the last column against the first three and the point of this page falls out: the federal floor is a MINIMUM, so a reading that is far past every clinical mark clears it most comfortably of all. The three clinical marks are exclusive at 50 and 52 and inclusive at 54, because that is how the guideline writes them — ">50%", ">52%", "≥54%". There is no published haematocrit CEILING for donation at all, which is why no column here refuses a high reading.
Haemoglobin chart — the donor floors, and the only published ceiling
The regulation states haemoglobin and haematocrit as alternatives, so this is the second of the two tests, not a conversion of the first. Find your haemoglobin down the left.
| Haemoglobin | Male allogeneic≥ 13 g/dL | Female allogeneic≥ 12.5 g/dL | Autologous≥ 11 g/dL | Red Cross ceiling≤ 20 g/dL |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10.5 g/dL | Below it | Below it | Below it | Within it |
| 11 g/dL | Below it | Below it | Clears it | Within it |
| 12 g/dL | Below it | Below it | Clears it | Within it |
| 12.5 g/dL | Below it | Clears it | Clears it | Within it |
| 13 g/dL | Clears it | Clears it | Clears it | Within it |
| 14 g/dL | Clears it | Clears it | Clears it | Within it |
| 15 g/dL | Clears it | Clears it | Clears it | Within it |
| 16 g/dL | Clears it | Clears it | Clears it | Within it |
| 17 g/dL | Clears it | Clears it | Clears it | Within it |
| 18 g/dL | Clears it | Clears it | Clears it | Within it |
| 19 g/dL | Clears it | Clears it | Clears it | Within it |
| 20 g/dL | Clears it | Clears it | Clears it | Within it |
| 21 g/dL | Clears it | Clears it | Clears it | Above it |
Floors from 21 CFR 630.10(f)(3), verbatim: "Male allogeneic donors must have a hemoglobin level that is equal to or greater than 13.0 grams of hemoglobin per deciliter of blood, or a hematocrit value that is equal to or greater than 39 percent." The ceiling is the Red Cross's and is the only one found: "Blood donors must have a minimum of 12.5 g/dL hemoglobin but no greater than 20 g/dL." Note that the Red Cross states 12.5 g/dL as the general minimum where the regulation requires 13 g/dL of a male donor — the collector's public page is written for everyone, the regulation splits by sex, and a man is held to both. Nothing in this table is derived from the haematocrit table above it.
Donation interval chart — the earliest date the regulation permits
Find the date of your last collection down the left; the columns are the earliest the regulation allows the next one. Earliest permitted, not scheduled — nothing obliges anyone to return on that day.
| Last collection | Whole blood+ 56 days | Double red cells+ 112 days | Change in haematocritper collection |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mon, Jan 5, 2026 | Mon, Mar 2, 20268 weeks | Mon, Apr 27, 202616 weeks | Not publishedno source states one |
| Thu, Feb 5, 2026 | Thu, Apr 2, 20268 weeks | Thu, May 28, 202616 weeks | Not publishedno source states one |
| Thu, Mar 5, 2026 | Thu, Apr 30, 20268 weeks | Thu, Jun 25, 202616 weeks | Not publishedno source states one |
| Sun, Apr 5, 2026 | Sun, May 31, 20268 weeks | Sun, Jul 26, 202616 weeks | Not publishedno source states one |
| Fri, Jun 5, 2026 | Fri, Jul 31, 20268 weeks | Fri, Sep 25, 202616 weeks | Not publishedno source states one |
| Sat, Sep 5, 2026 | Sat, Oct 31, 20268 weeks | Sat, Dec 26, 202616 weeks | Not publishedno source states one |
| Sat, Dec 5, 2026 | Sat, Jan 30, 20278 weeks | Sat, Mar 27, 202716 weeks | Not publishedno source states one |
Intervals from 21 CFR 630.15(a)(1)(i), verbatim: "For a collection resulting in a single unit of Whole Blood or Red Blood Cells collected by apheresis, donation frequency must be no more than once in 8 weeks, and for apheresis collections resulting in two units of Red Blood Cells, the donor must not donate more than once in 16 weeks." The third column is the one a reader came for and is blank on purpose: nothing fetched for this page — the regulation, the AUA guideline, or any of the six approved testosterone labels checked — states how far a collection moves a haematocrit, and an estimate here would be the page's own invention wearing a citation. There is likewise no published haematocrit ceiling above which a donor is turned away.
How many collections a year — the two answers, and why they differ
One is arithmetic on the regulation’s interval; the other is the cap the collecting organisation publishes. A donor is held to both, and the smaller one wins.
| Collection type | Regulation interval21 CFR 630.15(a) | Fits in 365 daysat that interval | Collector’s published capAmerican Red Cross | Closer than the intervalwhen permitted |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Whole blood (one unit) | Once in 8 weeks56 days | 7 a yearcounting the first | 6 a yearEvery 56 days, up to 6 times a year | Therapeutic phlebotomy onlyunder a prescription |
| Double red cells (two units by apheresis) | Once in 16 weeks112 days | 4 a yearcounting the first | 3 a yearEvery 112 days, up to 3 times/year | Therapeutic phlebotomy onlyunder a prescription |
| Therapeutic phlebotomya prescribed procedure | No fixed interval630.15(a)(2) | Not statedset by the prescription | Not a donation programmea treatment | This is the carve-outprescription required |
The two annual figures disagree and both are reported. Divide 365 days by the 56-day interval and seven whole-blood collections fit; the Red Cross publishes six. The regulation constrains the gap between collections and states no annual maximum; the collector states an annual maximum. The final column is the paragraph that separates the two halves of this page, verbatim: "When a donor who is determined to be eligible under § 630.10 undergoes a therapeutic phlebotomy under a prescription to promote the donor’s health, you may collect from the donor more frequently than once in 8 weeks for collections resulting in a single unit of Whole Blood or Red Blood Cells, or once in 16 weeks for apheresis collections resulting in two units of Red Blood Cells, provided that the container label conspicuously states the disease or condition of the donor that necessitated phlebotomy." A therapeutic phlebotomy is a prescribed procedure with the container labelled for the condition. It is not something arranged by booking a donation slot.
Frequently asked questions
- What haematocrit is too high on TRT?
- No FDA-approved testosterone label states a number. Depo-Testosterone, XYOSTED, JATENZO, KYZATREX, TLANDO and AVEED all say to stop "if hematocrit becomes elevated" and to restart when it "decreases to an acceptable level", and none of the six defines either phrase. The numbers people quote come from the AUA guideline, which prints three: it defines polycythemia as a haematocrit above 52%, says testosterone should be withheld if the baseline is above 50% until the cause is explained, and says that on treatment "a Hct ≥54% warrants intervention". Its follow-up table sets the target as maintaining "hematocrit levels below 54%". Those are guideline figures, not labelled ones, and this page keeps the distinction because your prescriber may work to different ones.
- Does the Endocrine Society guideline give a haematocrit threshold?
- Its published abstract does not, and this page therefore states none. The abstract names "elevated hematocrit" among the conditions in which it recommends against starting testosterone therapy, and among the things to monitor it lists "measuring serum T and hematocrit concentrations" — with no figure attached to either. The full 2018 guideline is behind a subscription and we did not open it, so this page states no Endocrine Society number and you should treat any page that does as making a claim about a document it may not have read. The numeric marks quoted here — 50%, 52% and 54% — are the American Urological Association's, from the freely published full text of its 2018 guideline.
- Will donating blood lower my haematocrit, and by how much?
- This page will not give you a figure, because nothing it could open publishes one. The federal donor-eligibility regulation, the AUA guideline and all six approved testosterone labels checked are silent on how far a single collection moves a haematocrit — and it would depend on your blood volume, how fast plasma refills, and what your testosterone is doing in the meantime. Removing red cells obviously removes red cells. Turning that into "56% becomes 51%" is the step no source supports, so the interval chart on this page has a column headed "Change in haematocrit" that reads "Not published" in every row rather than an estimate.
- How often can I donate blood in the United States?
- 21 CFR 630.15(a)(1)(i) states that for a single unit of whole blood "donation frequency must be no more than once in 8 weeks", and for an apheresis collection of two units of red cells "the donor must not donate more than once in 16 weeks". Eight weeks is 56 days and sixteen is 112. Seven 56-day intervals fit inside a 365-day year, but the American Red Cross publishes a lower annual cap — "Every 56 days, up to 6 times a year" for whole blood and "Every 112 days, up to 3 times/year" for double reds — and a donor is held to whichever is stricter. Collecting more often than that is permitted only for a therapeutic phlebotomy under a prescription.
- Can I donate blood if my haematocrit is high from testosterone?
- A high haematocrit does not fail the donor screen — the screen has a floor, not a ceiling. 21 CFR 630.10(f)(3)(i)(B) requires a male allogeneic donor to reach at least 13 g/dL of haemoglobin or 39% haematocrit, and there is no federal maximum. The only published ceiling found anywhere is the Red Cross's, and it is a haemoglobin one: donors must have "no greater than 20 g/dL". Note two things, though. The haemoglobin or haematocrit is one of six physical checks on the day, after a medical history — clearing it is not being eligible. And whether donating is the right answer to a testosterone-driven haematocrit is a separate question that the donor rules do not address at all.
- Is therapeutic phlebotomy the same as donating blood?
- No, and the regulation is explicit about the difference. 21 CFR 630.15(a)(2) permits collecting from a donor more often than once in 8 weeks only when that donor "undergoes a therapeutic phlebotomy under a prescription to promote the donor’s health", and it requires that the container label state the condition that necessitated it unless specific exemptions apply. The word doing the work is "prescription". Therapeutic phlebotomy for testosterone-induced erythrocytosis is a treatment decision a clinician makes and documents; donating is something a healthy person does for a recipient. Turning up at a blood drive on a schedule to manage a lab value is using the second thing to accomplish the first, without the clinician the first one is defined by.
- What does the AUA say to do about a haematocrit of 54% or more?
- Verbatim: "While on testosterone therapy, a Hct ≥54% warrants intervention. In men with high on-treatment testosterone levels, dose adjustment should be attempted as first-line management." It goes on to say that in men with low-normal on-treatment testosterone the next step is to measure SHBG and a free testosterone by a reliable assay such as equilibrium dialysis, and that "Men with on-treatment low/normal total and free testosterone levels should be referred to a hematologist for further evaluation." Dose adjustment and a haematologist referral are what the guideline names. The word phlebotomy does not appear in that passage, and neither does donation.
- Can I convert my haemoglobin to a haematocrit by multiplying by three?
- Not on this page. 21 CFR 630.10(f)(3) states the two limits independently and joins them with "or" — 13 g/dL of haemoglobin OR 39 percent haematocrit qualifies a male allogeneic donor — so the regulation itself treats them as two tests rather than one derived from the other. The "times three" rule of thumb appears in none of the sources used here, so this tool runs both tests separately and leaves either blank if you have not entered a value for it. If you only have one of the two numbers, you have one of the two tests, which is exactly what the regulation contemplates.
Sources
- [1]Electronic Code of Federal Regulations, 21 CFR Part 630 — General Requirements for Blood, Blood Components, and Blood Derivatives. Source of the donor haemoglobin and haematocrit minimums in § 630.10(f)(3), the 8-week and 16-week donation-frequency limits in § 630.15(a)(1)(i), and the therapeutic-phlebotomy paragraph in § 630.15(a)(2)
- [2]Mulhall JP, Trost LW, Brannigan RE, et al. Evaluation and Management of Testosterone Deficiency: AUA Guideline. American Urological Association, 2018 (full guideline PDF). Source of the >52% definition of polycythemia, the >50% baseline mark in Table 8, the ≥54% on-treatment mark and its first-line management, and the "below 54%" monitoring target in Table 7
- [3]American Red Cross — Hematocrit and Hemoglobin. Source of the only published upper limit found for a blood donor: "Blood donors must have a minimum of 12.5 g/dL hemoglobin but no greater than 20 g/dL."
- [4]American Red Cross — Types of Blood Donations. Source of the published annual caps, "Every 56 days, up to 6 times a year" for whole blood and "Every 112 days, up to 3 times/year" for Power Red
- [5]Bhasin S, Brito JP, Cunningham GR, et al. Testosterone Therapy in Men With Hypogonadism: An Endocrine Society Clinical Practice Guideline. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2018;103(5):1715-1744. PMID 29562364. Quoted from the PubMed abstract for what it says about elevated haematocrit — and for the fact that it states no figure there
- [6]FDA label — DEPO-Testosterone (testosterone cypionate) injection, Pharmacia & Upjohn, DailyMed SPL cfbb53d4-b868-4a28-8436-f9112eb01c39. Source of "Hemoglobin and hematocrit levels (to detect polycythemia) should be checked periodically in patients receiving long-term androgen administration."
- [7]FDA label — XYOSTED (testosterone enanthate) injection, Antares Pharma, DailyMed SPL 8a3d204c-be26-49e0-8599-0ac12a272e81. Source of "Evaluate hematocrit approximately every 3 months while the patient is on XYOSTED." and "If hematocrit becomes elevated, stop XYOSTED until the hematocrit decreases to an acceptable level." — a monitoring interval with no numeric threshold
- [8]FDA label — JATENZO (testosterone undecanoate) capsules, Tolmar, DailyMed SPL ed7b5d41-7475-4c10-99b9-b62b3434ae60. Checked for a numeric haematocrit threshold; it states "If hematocrit becomes elevated, stop JATENZO until the hematocrit decreases to an acceptable concentration." and gives no number
Embed this calculator
Free to use on your own site, no permission needed and no account. The widget resizes itself to fit your layout. Keeping the credit line underneath is appreciated, but the calculator works exactly the same if you delete it.
<!-- Haematocrit and blood donation planner — by Alpha Health Finder. Free to embed; keeping the credit line below is appreciated but not required. -->
<iframe src="https://alphahealthfinder.com/embed/tools/haematocrit-donation-planner"
title="Haematocrit and blood donation planner"
width="100%" height="3600" loading="lazy"
style="border:1px solid #e2e8f0;border-radius:12px;max-width:680px;width:100%"
data-ahf-embed="haematocrit-donation-planner"></iframe>
<p style="max-width:680px;margin:8px 0 0;font:13px/1.5 system-ui,-apple-system,sans-serif;color:#64748b">
<a href="https://alphahealthfinder.com/tools/haematocrit-donation-planner">Haematocrit and blood donation planner</a> by <a href="https://alphahealthfinder.com">Alpha Health Finder</a>
</p>
<script src="https://alphahealthfinder.com/embed/resize.js" async></script>Next steps
- Testosterone dose calculator
- Free testosterone calculator
- Testosterone cypionate
- Male hypogonadism
- Lab reference range chart
Related calculators
- Free Testosterone CalculatorFree and bioavailable testosterone from total T, SHBG and albumin. Vermeulen method, with the full conversion chart.
- TRT cost per month calculatorThe true monthly cost of TRT across self-pay, telehealth and clinic routes, with the vial price you were actually quoted.
- Testosterone dose calculatorWeekly mg split across your injection interval, then converted to mL and U-100 units at your vial’s strength.
- Testosterone Unit ConverterTotal T between ng/dL, nmol/L and ng/mL; free T between pg/mL, ng/dL, pmol/L and percent — with the factor derived from the molar mass.
- Bioavailable Testosterone CalculatorBioavailable testosterone — free plus albumin-bound — from total T, SHBG and albumin, with the whole partition of the sample shown.
- Estradiol Unit ConverterEstradiol between pg/mL, pmol/L, nmol/L and ng/L — plus what immunoassay and mass spectrometry disagree about at the concentrations men are measured at.
Educational reference, not medical advice. This tool compares a laboratory number to published thresholds and adds days to a date. It does not interpret your result, does not determine that you are eligible to donate, and does not recommend donation or phlebotomy as a treatment for anything. An elevated haematocrit on testosterone therapy is a reason to speak to your prescriber, whose first-line option — per the guideline quoted here — is a change to your dose.