Printable reference

Bacteriostatic Water Mixing Chart

The water side of reconstitution: how much benzyl alcohol a volume carries, what one bottle reconstitutes, and which figures the FDA label actually states. Printable.

Reviewed
Benzyl alcohol in 0.9% water
9 mg/mL
A 0.2 mL draw carries
1.8 mg
Label’s adult figure
30 mL IV, per dose
Post-puncture limit on the water label
Not stated
Use in neonates
Contraindicated

This is the sheet about the water. If what you need is the concentration a vial comes out at, or the mark to draw for a dose, you want the reconstitution chart instead — that grid is indexed by vial milligrams against diluent millilitres, and there is deliberately no mg/mL figure and no units-to-draw figure anywhere on this page. Everything here is indexed by a volume of water, and everything here comes out in milligrams of benzyl alcohol, vials per bottle, or a quote from a label. The two sheets are meant to be printed together and they share their arithmetic, so they cannot disagree.

Start with the first table. Find the size of your draw in millilitres down the left — the units figure underneath is the same volume on a U-100 barrel — and read across for the benzyl alcohol it carries. Bacteriostatic Water for Injection, USP is sold at two strengths and the difference is real: the 30 mL plastic vial is 0.9% (9 mg/mL) and the 20 mL glass vial is 1.1% (11 mg/mL), so the same 0.2 mL draw is 1.8 mg from one bottle and 2.2 mg from the other. Check which one you have; the percentage is printed on the vial face.

The third column needs reading carefully, and it is the reason this page exists rather than a paragraph on another one. The FDA label states exactly one adult quantity for benzyl alcohol: animal studies of small-volume parenterals containing 0.9% benzyl alcohol "indicated that an estimated intravenous dose up to 30 mL may be safely given to an adult without toxic effects" — which is 270 mg of benzyl alcohol. That is a single dose, it is intravenous, it comes from animals, and it is not a vial size even though 30 mL also happens to be the size of the bottle. The column expresses your draw as a fraction of it so you have a sense of scale. It is not a safety margin, and there is no labelled subcutaneous limit to give you instead.

The last two tables are the ones worth keeping. The fourth sets the three diluents side by side — bacteriostatic water, sterile water and bacteriostatic saline — because the difference between them is the preservative, and the preservative is the entire reason a vial can be entered twice. The fifth lists what the water label states and what it does not, and the honest answer to the most-asked question is in it: no bacteriostatic water label on DailyMed gives a post-puncture discard date. The 28 days everyone prints is real, but it belongs to CDC and to the drugs that supply the water, and this page says which.

Benzyl alcohol in one injection

Down the side is the size of your draw; across the top is the preservative strength of the bottle you drew it from. The figures are milligrams of benzyl alcohol going in with the drug.

Draw0.9% water9 mg/mL — 30 mL plastic vial1.1% water11 mg/mL — 20 mL glass vialShare of the label’s figureof 270 mg — scale only
0.05 mL5 units0.45 mg0.55 mg0.17%
0.1 mL10 units0.9 mg1.1 mg0.33%
0.15 mL15 units1.35 mg1.65 mg0.5%
0.2 mL20 units1.8 mg2.2 mg0.67%
0.25 mL25 units2.25 mg2.75 mg0.83%
0.3 mL30 units2.7 mg3.3 mg1%
0.4 mL40 units3.6 mg4.4 mg1.33%
0.5 mL50 units4.5 mg5.5 mg1.67%
0.75 mL75 units6.75 mg8.25 mg2.5%
1 mL100 units9 mg11 mg3.33%

The third column is greyed because it is a sense of scale and not a safety margin. The only adult quantity on the label is an estimated INTRAVENOUS dose of 30 mL — 270 mg of benzyl alcohol at 0.9% — derived from animal studies, and stated per dose. Subcutaneous injection is the route almost everyone reading this is using, and the label sets no subcutaneous limit at all; we are not going to invent one by converting the intravenous figure, so the column says what fraction of it your draw is and stops there. What the label does say about the ordinary case is that "adverse reactions to intravenous, intramuscular or subcutaneous injection of 0.9% benzyl alcohol are not known to occur in man".

Benzyl alcohol across a week

Your draw down the side, how often you inject across the top. Milligrams of benzyl alcohol per week from 0.9% water, with the water volume underneath.

Draw1× a week2× a week3× a week5× a week7× a weekdaily14× a weektwice daily
0.05 mL5 units0.45 mg0.05 mL water0.9 mg0.1 mL water1.35 mg0.15 mL water2.25 mg0.25 mL water3.15 mg0.35 mL water6.3 mg0.7 mL water
0.1 mL10 units0.9 mg0.1 mL water1.8 mg0.2 mL water2.7 mg0.3 mL water4.5 mg0.5 mL water6.3 mg0.7 mL water12.6 mg1.4 mL water
0.15 mL15 units1.35 mg0.15 mL water2.7 mg0.3 mL water4.05 mg0.45 mL water6.75 mg0.75 mL water9.45 mg1.05 mL water18.9 mg2.1 mL water
0.2 mL20 units1.8 mg0.2 mL water3.6 mg0.4 mL water5.4 mg0.6 mL water9 mg1 mL water12.6 mg1.4 mL water25.2 mg2.8 mL water
0.25 mL25 units2.25 mg0.25 mL water4.5 mg0.5 mL water6.75 mg0.75 mL water11.25 mg1.25 mL water15.75 mg1.75 mL water31.5 mg3.5 mL water
0.3 mL30 units2.7 mg0.3 mL water5.4 mg0.6 mL water8.1 mg0.9 mL water13.5 mg1.5 mL water18.9 mg2.1 mL water37.8 mg4.2 mL water
0.5 mL50 units4.5 mg0.5 mL water9 mg1 mL water13.5 mg1.5 mL water22.5 mg2.5 mL water31.5 mg3.5 mL water63 mg7 mL water
1 mL100 units9 mg1 mL water18 mg2 mL water27 mg3 mL water45 mg5 mL water63 mg7 mL water126 mg14 mL water

Two things this table deliberately does not do. It does not express a weekly total as a percentage of the label's 270 mg figure, because that figure is a SINGLE dose and adding up a week against it would be comparing two different quantities — no label states a daily or cumulative benzyl alcohol limit for adults, so there is nothing honest to divide by. And it does not recommend a frequency. The columns are an axis you pick your own row and column from; which interval applies to your compound is a question for a prescriber, and for most of what people reconstitute at home no sourceable frequency exists at all.

How far one bottle of water goes

Millilitres you put into each vial down the side, bottle you are pouring from across the top. The figure is how many vials that bottle reconstitutes before it runs out.

Water per vial20 mL bottle1.1% — 20 mL fill, glass30 mL bottle0.9% — 30 mL, plastic
0.5 mL4.5 mg BnOH at 0.9%40 vialsnothing left60 vialsnothing left
1 mL9 mg BnOH at 0.9%20 vialsnothing left30 vialsnothing left
1.5 mL13.5 mg BnOH at 0.9%13 vials0.5 mL left over20 vialsnothing left
2 mL18 mg BnOH at 0.9%10 vialsnothing left15 vialsnothing left
2.5 mL22.5 mg BnOH at 0.9%8 vialsnothing left12 vialsnothing left
3 mL27 mg BnOH at 0.9%6 vials2 mL left over10 vialsnothing left
4 mL36 mg BnOH at 0.9%5 vialsnothing left7 vials2 mL left over
5 mL45 mg BnOH at 0.9%4 vialsnothing left6 vialsnothing left
10 mL90 mg BnOH at 0.9%2 vialsnothing left3 vialsnothing left

Part-filled vials are not counted. The "BnOH in the vial" figure under each row is the total benzyl alcohol in the whole reconstituted vial at 0.9% — not what you inject, since the vial is many doses; divide it the way you divide the drug. Only two bottle sizes appear here because only two are documented: across all seven standalone Bacteriostatic Water for Injection, USP labels on DailyMed the only HOW SUPPLIED entries are the 30 mL plastic multiple-dose vial at 9 mg/mL and Hospira's 20 mL fill in a 30 mL glass vial at 11 mg/mL. There is no documented 10 mL bacteriostatic water presentation, so this chart does not show one.

Which water — and what each label allows

The three diluents that turn up in reconstitution instructions. The difference is the preservative, and the preservative is what decides whether the container can be entered twice.

DiluentPreservativeContainerrepeat entry?Neonates
Bacteriostatic Water0.9% — 30 mL plastic vialBenzyl alcohol 9 mg/mLMultiple-doserepeated withdrawalsMust not be used
Bacteriostatic Water1.1% — 20 mL glass vialBenzyl alcohol 11 mg/mLMultiple-doserepeated withdrawalsMust not be used
Sterile Waterfor Injection, USPNoneno bacteriostat or bufferSingle-dose onlyThe label’s alternative
Bacteriostatic 0.9% Sodium Chlorideisotonic, not waterBenzyl alcohol 9 mg/mLMultiple-doserepeated withdrawalsMust not be used

Use whichever diluent the manufacturer of the drug specifies — the water label itself says this preparation is "indicated only for diluting or dissolving drugs ... according to instructions of the manufacturer of the drug to be administered". Sterile water is what the bacteriostatic label points to for the population it excludes: "Where water is required for preparing or diluting medications for use in neonates, only preservative-free Sterile Water for Injection should be used." Two hazards belong to the water rather than the drug and appear on no reconstitution sheet we have seen: bacteriostatic water "must be made approximately isotonic prior to use", and "Intravenous administration of Bacteriostatic Water for Injection without a solute may result in hemolysis". Neither bacteriostatic preparation may be used for fluid replacement, or in epidural or spinal anaesthesia.

What the water label states — and what it does not

Every widely repeated bacteriostatic water figure, and whether it is actually on the water label. Where it is not, this says whose figure it is.

QuestionOn the water labelWhere the usual answer comes from
Discard how long after puncture?Not stated28 days — CDC, citing USP <797>a general multi-dose-vial rule, not this product’s label
How long does the mixed drug keep?Defers to the drug“unless otherwise directed by the manufacturer of the solute”The drug’s own label7, 14 and 30 days on three different FDA labels
How should the bottle be stored?20 to 25°C (68 to 77°F)USP Controlled Room Temperatureno refrigeration
Is there a maximum volume?30 mL, intravenous, per doseestimated, from animal studiesNo subcutaneous figure existswe will not convert the IV one
Can it be used in neonates?WARNING: NOT FOR USE IN NEONATESPreservative-free Sterile Water instead
What is it approved for?FOR DRUG DILUENT USE ONLYDiluting or dissolving drugsIV, IM or subcutaneous injection
Does the preservative keep it sterile?Not claimedCDC: no effect on virusesnor “complete protection against bacterial contamination”

The first row is the one to take away, and we checked it rather than repeating it. All seven standalone Bacteriostatic Water for Injection, USP labels published on DailyMed — Hospira, Fujian Genohope, ProPharma, Henry Schein, HF Acquisition/HealthFirst, Medical Purchasing Solutions and US MedSource — were retrieved as XML and searched in September 2026. The strings “28”, “day”, “punctur”, “discard”, “expir” and “beyond” occur zero times in all seven. The 28 days is a real and sensible practice, it is simply CDC’s and USP’s rather than the bottle’s, and it also appears on drug labels that supply the water. Date your bottle at first puncture — just do not tell yourself the bottle told you to.

Frequently asked questions

How much benzyl alcohol is in a bacteriostatic water injection?
At 0.9% the water carries 9 mg of benzyl alcohol per millilitre, so an ordinary 0.2 mL subcutaneous draw — 20 units on a U-100 barrel — carries 1.8 mg. A 0.5 mL draw carries 4.5 mg and a full 1 mL carries 9 mg. If your bottle is the 1.1% glass presentation instead, multiply by 1.222: the same 0.2 mL is 2.2 mg. The strength is printed on the vial face, so you do not have to guess which you have.
Is there a safe limit on how much bacteriostatic water you can inject?
There is one labelled figure and it is narrower than it is usually quoted. Animal studies of small-volume parenterals containing 0.9% benzyl alcohol "indicated that an estimated intravenous dose up to 30 mL may be safely given to an adult without toxic effects" — 270 mg of benzyl alcohol. Note what that is: an estimate, from animals, intravenous, and per dose. The label states no subcutaneous limit and no daily or weekly limit, and this page will not manufacture one by converting the intravenous number. For scale, a 0.2 mL subcutaneous draw is 0.67% of that volume. The label also notes that "adverse reactions to intravenous, intramuscular or subcutaneous injection of 0.9% benzyl alcohol are not known to occur in man".
Why can’t bacteriostatic water be used in babies?
Because benzyl alcohol is toxic to neonates, and the contraindication is absolute rather than a caution. The vial face carries "WARNING: NOT FOR USE IN NEONATES", and the contraindications section states that "Due to the potential toxicity of benzyl alcohol in neonates, solutions containing benzyl alcohol must not be used in this patient population." The label quantifies the concern: "Administration of an estimated 9 mL to a 6 kg infant or neonate is potentially capable of producing blood pressure changes." Read that as the amount the label warns about, not an amount that is permitted — none is. Where water is needed to prepare or dilute medication for a neonate, only preservative-free Sterile Water for Injection should be used. Beyond neonates the label goes no further: safety and effectiveness "have not been established in pediatric patients", so there is no paediatric figure to give either.
What is the difference between 0.9% and 1.1% bacteriostatic water?
The preservative concentration and the container, nothing else. Hospira's HOW SUPPLIED table lists a "Multiple-dose 30 mL plastic Fliptop vial" at 9 mg/mL benzyl alcohol and a "Multiple-dose 20 mL fill in 30 mL glass Fliptop vial" at 11 mg/mL. The 30 mL plastic 0.9% vial is the one in general supply and the one the label's 30 mL adult figure is stated against. Practically the 1.1% bottle delivers about 22.22% more benzyl alcohol for the same volume — 11 mg per mL against 9 mg. It changes nothing about the drug's concentration, which depends only on the vial mass and the volume you added.
How many vials will one bottle of bacteriostatic water reconstitute?
Divide the bottle by the water you put in each vial. A 30 mL bottle gives 30 vials at 1 mL each, 15 at 2 mL, 10 at 3 mL with 0 mL left over, and 6 at 5 mL. The 20 mL glass bottle gives 20, 10, 6 and 4 respectively. Part-filled vials do not count. Note this is a question about the bottle of water and not about the drug — how many DOSES a reconstituted vial holds depends only on the milligrams in it, which the reconstitution chart covers.
Does bacteriostatic water expire 28 days after you puncture it?
The 28 days is a real rule but it does not come from the bacteriostatic water label. We pulled all seven standalone Bacteriostatic Water for Injection, USP labels on DailyMed and searched every one: not a single one states a post-puncture period, a discard date or a beyond-use date. The figure is CDC’s, following USP General Chapter 797: "Once a multi-dose vial is opened (e.g., needle-punctured) the vial should be dated and discarded within 28 days unless the manufacturer states another date for that opened vial", and "The beyond-use-date should never exceed the manufacturer’s original expiration date." It also appears on drug labels that supply the water as their diluent. Follow it — just know it is a general multi-dose-vial rule, not something the bottle in your hand says.
Can I use sterile water instead of bacteriostatic water?
Only if the vial will be entered once. Sterile Water for Injection, USP "contains no bacteriostat, antimicrobial agent or added buffer and is supplied only in single-dose containers" — with no preservative, a second entry has nothing limiting bacterial growth, which is precisely what the benzyl alcohol is there for. Bacteriostatic water by contrast "is supplied in a multiple-dose container from which repeated withdrawals may be made". Sterile water is the right choice, and the labelled one, when the patient is a neonate. Whichever you use, the arithmetic of concentration is identical — the preservative changes what the container allows, not what the drug comes out at.
Can I use bacteriostatic sodium chloride instead?
Only when the drug's own label says so, because it is not the same diluent. Bacteriostatic 0.9% Sodium Chloride Injection, USP is "a sterile, nonpyrogenic, isotonic solution of sodium chloride", with "sodium chloride 9 mg and 0.9% (9 mg/mL) benzyl alcohol" per millilitre — same preservative load as 0.9% bacteriostatic water, but it also carries salt, and some lyophilised products are incompatible with it. The bacteriostatic water label is explicit that the diluent is chosen by the drug: consult "the manufacturer's instructions for choice of vehicle, appropriate dilution or volume for dissolving the drugs to be injected". It carries the same neonatal contraindication.
Does the preservative mean the vial stays sterile?
No, and this is the most useful thing to know about benzyl alcohol. CDC is direct about it: multi-dose vials "typically contain an antimicrobial preservative to help limit the growth of bacteria. The preservative does not have an effect on viruses nor does it provide complete protection against bacterial contamination." Bacteriostatic means it inhibits bacterial growth, not that it sterilises what you introduce. The label's own instruction is to "Use aseptic technique for single or multiple entry and withdrawal from all containers", and "Do not use unless the solution is clear and seal intact". Swab the stopper before every entry, use a fresh needle each time, and discard the bottle if the solution is not clear.
How should I store the bottle of bacteriostatic water?
At 20 to 25°C (68 to 77°F), which the label notes is USP Controlled Room Temperature — an ordinary cupboard, not the fridge. That is the figure for the unopened and in-use bottle of water. The reconstituted drug is a separate question with a separate answer, set by the drug's label rather than the water's: the water label says only "Do not store reconstituted solutions of drugs for injection unless otherwise directed by the manufacturer of the solute." Three FDA labels that use bacteriostatic water as their diluent give three different in-use periods for the mixed product, which is covered on the reconstitution chart.

Sources

  1. [1]Bacteriostatic Water for Injection, USP — FDA prescribing information (Hospira, Inc.), DailyMed. Marketing category NDA. "Bacteriostatic Water for Injection, USP is a sterile, nonpyrogenic preparation of water for injection containing 0.9% (9 mg/mL) or 1.1% (11 mg/mL) of benzyl alcohol added as a bacteriostatic preservative. It is supplied in a multiple-dose container from which repeated withdrawals may be made to dilute or dissolve drugs for injection." / "WARNING: NOT FOR USE IN NEONATES." / "Due to the potential toxicity of benzyl alcohol in neonates, solutions containing benzyl alcohol must not be used in this patient population." / "Parenteral preparations with benzyl alcohol should not be used for fluid replacement." / "Parenteral preparations containing benzyl alcohol should not be used in epidural or spinal anesthesia procedures." / "Bacteriostatic Water for Injection, USP must be made approximately isotonic prior to use." / "Where water is required for preparing or diluting medications for use in neonates, only preservative-free Sterile Water for Injection should be used." / "Intravenous administration of Bacteriostatic Water for Injection without a solute may result in hemolysis." / "Although adverse reactions to intravenous, intramuscular or subcutaneous injection of 0.9% benzyl alcohol are not known to occur in man, experimental studies of small volume parenteral preparations containing 0.9% benzyl alcohol in several species of animals have indicated that an estimated intravenous dose up to 30 mL may be safely given to an adult without toxic effects. Administration of an estimated 9 mL to a 6 kg infant or neonate is potentially capable of producing blood pressure changes." / "The safety and effectiveness of Bacteriostatic Water for Injection, USP have not been established in pediatric patients." / "Use aseptic technique for single or multiple entry and withdrawal from all containers." / "Do not store reconstituted solutions of drugs for injection unless otherwise directed by the manufacturer of the solute." / "Do not use unless the solution is clear and seal intact." / "Consult the manufacturer’s instructions for choice of vehicle, appropriate dilution or volume for dissolving the drugs to be injected, including the route and rate of injection." / "This parenteral preparation is indicated only for diluting or dissolving drugs for intravenous, intramuscular or subcutaneous injection, according to instructions of the manufacturer of the drug to be administered." / HOW SUPPLIED: "Tray of 25 Multiple-dose 30 mL plastic Fliptop vials — 9 mg/mL" and "Tray of 25 Multiple-dose 20 mL fill in 30 mL glass Fliptop vials — 11 mg/mL"; "Store at 20 to 25°C (68 to 77°F). [See USP Controlled Room Temperature.]" / Vial tray panel: "FOR DRUG DILUENT USE ONLY." No post-puncture, discard or beyond-use period appears anywhere in the label.
  2. [2]DailyMed SPL search, drug_name=bacteriostatic water — 18 results, of which seven are standalone Bacteriostatic Water for Injection, USP labels: Hospira (87d6e9dc), Fujian Genohope Biotech (54f66b82), ProPharma Distribution (42c6938e), Henry Schein (a833502e), HF Acquisition Co/HealthFirst (99b0ef9b), Medical Purchasing Solutions (69485218) and US MedSource (ccadcf46). Each was retrieved as XML and searched in September 2026 for the strings "28", "day", "punctur", "discard", "expir" and "beyond". All six strings occur zero times in all seven labels. The only HOW SUPPLIED presentations across the seven are the 30 mL plastic multiple-dose vial at 9 mg/mL and Hospira’s 20 mL fill in a 30 mL glass vial at 11 mg/mL.
  3. [3]Sterile Water for Injection, USP — FDA prescribing information, DailyMed. Marketing category ANDA. "Sterile Water for Injection, USP is a sterile, nonpyrogenic preparation of water for injection which contains no bacteriostat, antimicrobial agent or added buffer and is supplied only in single-dose containers to dilute or dissolve drugs for injection. For intravenous injection, add sufficient solute to make an approximately isotonic solution. pH 5.0 to 7.0."
  4. [4]Bacteriostatic 0.9% Sodium Chloride Injection, USP — FDA prescribing information (Hospira, Inc.), DailyMed. Marketing category NDA. "Bacteriostatic 0.9% Sodium Chloride Injection, USP is a sterile, nonpyrogenic, isotonic solution of sodium chloride in water for injection. Each milliliter (mL) contains sodium chloride 9 mg and 0.9% (9 mg/mL) benzyl alcohol added as a bacteriostatic preservative." / "It is supplied in a multiple-dose container from which repeated withdrawals may be made to dilute or dissolve drugs for medication." / "Due to the potential toxicity of benzyl alcohol in neonates, solutions containing benzyl alcohol must not be used in this patient population." / Supplied in 10 mL, 20 mL and 30 mL multiple-dose plastic Fliptop vials.
  5. [5]Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Injection Safety — Clinical Safety Considerations. On multi-dose vials: "Multi-dose vials are labeled by the manufacturer and typically contain an antimicrobial preservative to help limit the growth of bacteria. The preservative does not have an effect on viruses nor does it provide complete protection against bacterial contamination." Citing USP General Chapter 797: "Once a multi-dose vial is opened (e.g., needle-punctured) the vial should be dated and discarded within 28 days unless the manufacturer states another date for that opened vial. The beyond-use-date should never exceed the manufacturer’s original expiration date."

Next steps

Other charts

Educational reference, not medical advice. This sheet is about the diluent: the benzyl alcohol a volume of bacteriostatic water carries, how far a bottle goes, and what the FDA label states. It does not select a dose, a frequency or a cycle for any compound. The label’s 30 mL adult figure is an estimated intravenous single dose from animal studies — there is no labelled subcutaneous, daily or cumulative limit, and none is given here. No bacteriostatic water label states a post-puncture discard date; the 28-day rule is CDC’s, citing USP <797>. Not for use in neonates. alphahealthfinder.com