Head to head
Rybelsus vs Ozempic
One molecule, a daily tablet against a weekly injection — and since Ozempic tablets launched, "Ozempic" is two different medicines. What the labels actually authorise between them is one switch, from one dose.
Reviewed
The short answer
Same molecule, and then almost nothing else in common. The injection's label states an absolute bioavailability of 89%; the tablet's states 0.4% to 1%. Roughly ninety-nine hundredths of a Rybelsus tablet never reaches the blood at all, and every difference below — the milligram scale, the empty stomach, the four ounces of water, the thirty-minute wait — is downstream of that one number.
Before anything else: "Ozempic" is now two medicines. There is Ozempic injection (0.25 → 0.5 → 1 → 2 mg once weekly, its own FDA application) and there are Ozempic tablets (1.5 → 4 → 9 mg once daily, sharing one label with Rybelsus). If someone has told you Rybelsus is "the oral Ozempic", that is now a sentence about a real and different product, and the two tablets are not interchangeable with each other either.
The milligrams do not convert. No label, trial or guideline states an equivalence between oral and injectable semaglutide, and the injection's label does not mention the tablets at all — the words "tablet" and "RYBELSUS" appear zero times in it. What the tablets' label authorises is one switch and one only: from the 0.5 mg injection, one week later, to 7 mg or 14 mg of Rybelsus. For the other three injection doses — 0.25 mg, 1 mg and 2 mg — there is no labelled destination at all.
On side effects the two are closer than the routes suggest, and here the comparison is fair rather than strained: both tables are placebo-controlled pools in type 2 diabetes reported at the same ≥5% threshold, with placebo nausea of 6.1% and 6%. Nausea at the top dose is 20.3% on the injection and 20% on the tablet. Where they genuinely differ is who stops: 3.8% quit the injection for a gut side effect against 8% on the tablet.
5 of 17 dimensions are materially the same. They are marked below rather than dressed up as differences.
Rybelsus
semaglutide tablets, 3 / 7 / 14 mg
Oral semaglutide, one tablet every morning on an empty stomach, with an absorption enhancer and a 30-minute fasting window built into the instructions.
Dosing protocol →Ozempic injection
semaglutide injection, 0.25 / 0.5 / 1 / 2 mg weekly
Subcutaneous semaglutide once a week, any time of day, with or without meals — and the only one of the two that carries a chronic kidney disease indication.
Dosing protocol →Side by side
Every row carries how well supported it is. A claim that only reflects common practice is labelled as such rather than presented as fact.
| Dimension | Rybelsus | Ozempic injection | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Absolute bioavailability | 0.4% to 1% (Rybelsus); 1% to 2% (Ozempic tablets) | 89% | labelSection 12.3 of both labels, in the same words. Two orders of magnitude, and the single fact that explains why a tablet needs 14 mg to do what an injection does with 1 mg. It is not a potency ratio and must not be read as one. |
| How and when it is taken | On an empty stomach in the morning, with water "up to 4 ounces", then nothing — no food, no other drink, no other tablet — for at least 30 minutes | Once weekly, "at any time of the day, with or without meals" | labelThe oral instruction is four separate constraints in one bullet, and the label ties them to absorption: dosing with 50 mL of water gave higher exposure than 240 mL, and a longer post-dose fast gave higher exposure than a shorter one. The injection has no timing or food constraint of any kind. |
| Dosing frequency | Once daily — 365 doses a year | Once weekly — 52 doses a year | labelThe trade is seven times the doses against not using a needle. Neither label expresses a preference; this is the one row where the answer is genuinely a matter of what you will actually do. |
| Labelled dose ladder | 3 → 7 → 14 mg daily (Rybelsus); 1.5 → 4 → 9 mg daily (Ozempic tablets) | 0.25 → 0.5 → 1 → 2 mg weekly | labelThe starting rung of each is an initiation dose the label states "is not effective for glycemic control" — 3 mg on Rybelsus, 1.5 mg on Ozempic tablets. The injection's 0.25 mg is described the same way in section 2.2's escalation instruction. Three ladders, three scales, no arithmetic between them. |
| Milligram equivalence between themsame | Not stated on any label | Not stated on any label | labelThe sentence people quote — "RYBELSUS and OZEMPIC tablets are not substitutable on a mg-to-mg basis" — is about the two TABLETS, not about the injection. Between oral and injectable the labels say nothing at all: "substitutable" appears zero times in the Ozempic injection SPL. |
| Labelled switch between them | From 0.5 mg injection only → 7 mg or 14 mg | No labelled route back from tablets to injection | labelSection 2.4, verbatim in effect: one week after discontinuing 0.5 mg of subcutaneous Ozempic, start 7 mg or 14 mg of Rybelsus — or 4 mg or 9 mg of Ozempic tablets. No injection dose other than 0.5 mg has a labelled destination, and the oral label describes no journey in the other direction. (The Wegovy label does carry a two-way switch; this pair does not.) |
| Time to a maintenance dosesame | Day 31 (7 mg), after 30 days at the initiation dose | Week 5 (0.5 mg), after 4 weeks at 0.25 mg | labelBoth are about a month, computed from each label's own holds rather than typed. Climbing further is conditional on the same wording in both — "if additional glycemic control is needed" — after at least another 4 weeks or 30 days. |
| Approved indications | Type 2 diabetes — glycaemic control; cardiovascular risk reduction | Type 2 diabetes — glycaemic control; cardiovascular risk reduction; reducing sustained eGFR decline, end-stage kidney disease and CV death in chronic kidney disease | labelThe kidney indication is on the injection and on neither tablet. Neither product in this comparison is approved for weight reduction — that is Wegovy, a separate application with a separate label. |
| Cardiovascular population | Adults with type 2 diabetes "at high risk for these events" | Adults with type 2 diabetes "and established cardiovascular disease" | labelA quiet difference that decides eligibility. The tablets are indicated for a broader high-risk group; the injection names established disease. Same molecule, same manufacturer, two different populations in section 1. |
| Nausea, type 2 diabetes poolssame | 20% at 14 mg vs 6% placebo | 20.3% at 1 mg vs 6.1% placebo | labelTwo pools, but unusually comparable ones: same disease, same ≥5% reporting threshold, placebo arms within a tenth of a point. Excess over placebo is +14 pts on the tablet and +14.2 pts on the injection — a third of a point apart, which is not a difference. |
| Any GI reaction, excess over placebosame | +20 pts (41% vs 21%) | +21.1 pts (36.4% vs 15.3%) | labelAround twenty points either way, computed rather than compared by eye. Whatever the oral formulation does differently, it does not make the gut effects meaningfully rarer or commoner in aggregate. |
| Stopped for a gut side effect | 8% at 14 mg | 3.8% at 1 mg | labelThe one adverse-reaction figure that does separate them, and it separates them by roughly double. Total GI reactions are the same; the proportion who abandon the drug over them is not. The labels offer no explanation for it. |
| Missed dose | Skip it and take the next one the following day | Take it within 5 days of the missed dose, otherwise skip it | labelA missed tablet costs a day. A missed injection has a five-day rescue window, and the day of the week can be changed provided at least 48 hours separate two doses. |
| Handling the dose form | "Swallow tablets whole. Do not split, crush, chew or dissolve in any solution." | Inspect for clarity; inject in abdomen, thigh or upper arm; rotate sites | labelThe oral prohibition is absolute and is one of very few places a US label forbids splitting outright. Given that 0.4% to 1% reaches the blood intact, anything done to the tablet is done to a formulation that is already barely getting through. |
| Breastfeeding | Not recommended — the tablets contain SNAC, and "there are alternative semaglutide products that do not contain SNAC" | No such statement; the usual benefits-and-risks wording | labelThe absorption enhancer, not the semaglutide, drives this. Section 8.2 of the oral label says SNAC and its metabolites are present in human milk and infants may clear it more slowly. The injection has no enhancer and no equivalent recommendation. |
| Boxed warningsame | Thyroid C-cell tumours; contraindicated in MTC or MEN 2 history | Thyroid C-cell tumours; contraindicated in MTC or MEN 2 history | labelWord for word the same rodent finding and the same contraindication on both labels. Route changes nothing here. |
| What a pharmacy paid, per month | $1,009 — Rybelsus 14 mg; $1,010 — Ozempic tablets 9 mg | $1,079 at 1 mg; $1,079 at 2 mg | literatureCMS NADAC, file dated 2026-09-16. Invoice cost to a retail pharmacy — not a cash price, not a copay. Every semaglutide tablet in the file costs about the same whatever strength is printed on it, so the daily tablet and the weekly injection land close together despite one being taken seven times as often. |
- label
- Stated on the FDA label
- guideline
- Clinical practice guideline
- literature
- Published literature
- practice
- Common practice, not documented
Which one
Choose Rybelsus if
- You will not inject, and that is the end of the matter. A drug taken is better than a drug declined, and this is the only oral GLP-1 in the pair.
- Your mornings are already fixed — you wake, you take tablets, you wait, you eat. The empty-stomach rule costs nothing if it slots into a routine you already have.
- You want to try semaglutide with the shortest possible exit. A tablet stopped is a tablet stopped; there is no depot left behind, though the label notes semaglutide is in the circulation for about five weeks either way.
- Refrigeration is a problem for you — travel, shift work, no reliable fridge. Tablets remove the cold chain from the decision.
Choose Ozempic injection if
- You have chronic kidney disease with type 2 diabetes. That indication is on the injection and on no semaglutide tablet, and it is the clearest reason on either label to choose one over the other.
- A fasting window every single morning is not realistic for you. The injection has no food rule, no water rule and no timing rule at all.
- You would rather think about this once a week than every day. Fifty-two decisions a year against three hundred and sixty-five.
- Adherence is your real risk. The five-day rescue window on a missed weekly dose is a far more forgiving failure mode than a missed morning.
What this page will not do is tell you which dose of one equals which dose of the other, because no label, trial or guideline says. The only route the documents authorise runs from the 0.5 mg injection to 7 mg or 14 mg of Rybelsus, one week later — and if you are on 1 mg or 2 mg of the injection, the labels simply do not describe your case. That is a conversation with your prescriber, not an arithmetic problem. Note too that neither of these products is approved for weight loss; if that is what you are after, the labelled semaglutide products for it are Wegovy injection and Wegovy tablets.
Frequently asked questions
- Is Rybelsus just Ozempic in a tablet?
- No, and the sentence has become actively misleading now that Ozempic tablets exist. There are three products in play: Rybelsus (3, 7 and 14 mg daily), Ozempic tablets (1.5, 4 and 9 mg daily, on the same FDA label as Rybelsus) and Ozempic injection (0.25 → 0.5 → 1 → 2 mg weekly, a separate label). The two tablet products are not interchangeable with each other — the label opens section 2 with "RYBELSUS and OZEMPIC tablets are not substitutable on a mg-to-mg basis" — and between either tablet and the injection the labels state no equivalence at all. Same molecule, three dose scales, and the brand name no longer identifies the medicine on its own.
- How many milligrams of Rybelsus equal 1 mg of Ozempic injection?
- Nothing on either label answers that, and this page will not guess. The injection's own SPL never mentions tablets: the strings "tablet" and "RYBELSUS" appear zero times in it. The tablets' label authorises exactly one transition — from the 0.5 mg injection, starting a week after the last injection, at 7 mg or 14 mg of Rybelsus — and says nothing about the 0.25 mg, 1 mg and 2 mg doses. The reason no ratio exists is in section 12.3: absolute bioavailability is 0.4% to 1% orally and 89% by injection, and a fraction that small is not stable enough across people to base a conversion on.
- Why do I have to take Rybelsus on an empty stomach?
- Because the tablet is fighting to be absorbed at all, and the instruction is the label protecting the little that gets through. Section 2.1 requires one tablet, in the morning, on an empty stomach, with water "up to 4 ounces" and no other liquid, followed by at least 30 minutes before food, any drink or any other oral medicine. Section 12.3 shows why each clause is there: exposure was higher with 50 mL of water than with 240 mL, and higher after a longer post-dose fast than a shorter one. The injection has no equivalent rule — it may be taken at any time of day, with or without meals.
- Does the tablet cause less nausea than the injection?
- Not in any way the labels establish. This is one of the rare pairs where the adverse-reaction tables can honestly be laid side by side — both are placebo-controlled pools in type 2 diabetes at a ≥5% reporting threshold, with placebo nausea of 6.1% and 6% — and they land in the same place. Nausea at the top labelled dose is 20.3% on the injection and 20% on the tablet, and any gastrointestinal reaction runs about twenty points over placebo on both. The one real difference is discontinuation: 3.8% stopped the injection over a gut side effect against 8% on the tablet, and neither label explains the gap.
- Can I take Rybelsus for weight loss?
- Not on its label. Rybelsus and Ozempic — injection and tablets alike — are indicated for glycaemic control in type 2 diabetes and for cardiovascular risk reduction, and the injection adds a chronic kidney disease indication. None of the three carries a weight-reduction indication. The semaglutide products that do are Wegovy injection and Wegovy tablets, which are a separate FDA application with their own label, their own ladder and a 25 mg daily maintenance dose on the tablet. Prescribing outside a labelled indication happens and is lawful, but it is not something a label supports and your insurer will usually know the difference.
- Can I break a Rybelsus tablet in half to save money?
- No, and this is one of the few US labels that closes the door in so many words: "Swallow tablets whole. Do not split, crush, chew or dissolve in any solution." The reason is mechanical rather than cautionary. The tablet is co-formulated with salcaprozate sodium, an absorption enhancer, and the label states that absorption "predominantly occurs in the stomach" from the intact tablet; the resulting bioavailability is still only 0.4% to 1%. There is also no saving to chase — in the CMS NADAC file dated 2026-09-16 every semaglutide tablet strength costs a pharmacy about the same per tablet, so a 3 mg tablet and a 14 mg tablet are near enough the same money.
- Which is cheaper, the tablet or the injection?
- At what a pharmacy pays on invoice they are closer than the dosing frequency suggests. In the CMS NADAC file dated 2026-09-16, a month of Rybelsus 14 mg is $1,009, a month of Ozempic tablets 9 mg is $1,010, and a month of Ozempic injection is $1,079 at 1 mg or $1,079 at 2 mg. The tablet is taken seven times as often and still lands in the same region, because the price is attached to the product rather than to the drug in it. None of these is a figure you can walk into a pharmacy and pay — NADAC records what the pharmacy paid on invoice, before any dispensing fee, markup or rebate, and before your plan gets involved.
- Why does the oral label warn about breastfeeding when the injection does not?
- Because of the excipient, not the semaglutide. Rybelsus and Ozempic tablets contain salcaprozate sodium (SNAC) as an absorption enhancer, and section 8.2 of their shared label states that SNAC and/or its metabolites are present in human milk, that infants may clear it more slowly than adults, and that "because there are alternative semaglutide products that do not contain SNAC that can be used during lactation, advise patients that breastfeeding is not recommended during treatment with RYBELSUS or OZEMPIC tablets." The injection contains no SNAC and carries the ordinary weigh-the-benefits wording instead. It is a clean example of a difference that belongs to the formulation rather than to the drug.
Sources
- [1]FDA label — RYBELSUS (semaglutide) tablets and OZEMPIC (semaglutide) tablets, Novo Nordisk (DailyMed SPL 27f15fac-7d98-4114-a2ec-92494a91da98, approval block NDA213051, marketing category NDA). Section 2: "RYBELSUS and OZEMPIC tablets are not substitutable on a mg-to-mg basis." Section 2.1: "Take one RYBELSUS or OZEMPIC tablet orally once daily on an empty stomach in the morning with water (up to 4 ounces of water). Do not take RYBELSUS or OZEMPIC tablets with other liquids besides water." / "Swallow tablets whole. Do not split, crush, chew or dissolve in any solution." / "After taking RYBELSUS or OZEMPIC tablets, wait at least 30 minutes before eating food, drinking beverages or taking other oral medications." Section 12.3: "Semaglutide estimated absolute bioavailability was approximately: 0.4% to 1% after oral administration of 3 mg, 7 mg and 14 mg of RYBELSUS. 1% to 2% after oral administration of 1.5 mg, 4 mg and 9 mg of OZEMPIC tablets."
- [2]FDA label — OZEMPIC (semaglutide) injection, Novo Nordisk (DailyMed SPL adec4fd2-6858-4c99-91d4-531f5f2a2d79, approval block NDA209637, marketing category NDA). Section 2.1: "Administer OZEMPIC once weekly, on the same day each week, at any time of the day, with or without meals." Section 12.3: "Absolute bioavailability of semaglutide is 89%. Maximum concentration of semaglutide is reached 1 to 3 days post dose." The strings "tablet", "RYBELSUS" and "substitutable" each appear zero times in this document, checked against the SPL XML on 2026-09-20
- [3]FDA label — RYBELSUS / OZEMPIC tablets, section 2.4 Switching from OZEMPIC Injection to RYBELSUS or OZEMPIC Tablets: "Patients taking the 0.5 mg dose of OZEMPIC injection may switch to RYBELSUS tablets. One week after discontinuing 0.5 mg of subcutaneous OZEMPIC injection, start 7 mg or 14 mg of RYBELSUS orally once daily." The parallel instruction for Ozempic tablets names 4 mg or 9 mg. No other injection dose appears in this section
- [4]FDA label — RYBELSUS / OZEMPIC tablets, section 8.2 Lactation: "Because of the unknown potential for serious adverse reactions in the breastfed infant due to the possible accumulation of SNAC, and because there are alternative semaglutide products that do not contain SNAC that can be used during lactation, advise patients that breastfeeding is not recommended during treatment with RYBELSUS or OZEMPIC tablets."
- [5]FDA label — OZEMPIC injection, section 1 Indications and Usage: "to reduce the risk of sustained eGFR decline, end-stage kidney disease, and cardiovascular death in adults with type 2 diabetes mellitus and chronic kidney disease." The tablets' section 1 carries no kidney indication
- [6]CMS National Average Drug Acquisition Cost (NADAC), weekly file dated 2026-09-16. The source of every dollar figure above — what retail community pharmacies reported paying on invoice, per NDC. Not a retail price, a cash price or a copay
Next steps
- Ozempic — the brand record
- Semaglutide — the compound record
- Ozempic vs Wegovy
- Semaglutide vs tirzepatide
- Semaglutide dosage chart
- GLP-1 cost comparison
Other comparisons
- Testosterone Cypionate vs EnanthateBoth labels side by side: identical dose ranges, different oils, and a half-life claim only one label actually makes.
- Semaglutide vs TirzepatideA real head-to-head trial, both labels side by side, and the four words about side effects that appear on one label and not the other.
- Sildenafil vs TadalafilFour hours against thirty-six, a food effect on only one label, and no milligram conversion between them anywhere.
- Finasteride vs DutasterideA labelled hair drug against a prostate drug used off-label — and a head-to-head trial that went to the unapproved one.
- TRT vs EnclomipheneOne has an FDA label, a dose range and a DEA schedule. The other has no US approval at all — and still beat testosterone gel on sperm counts.
- Ozempic vs WegovyOne molecule, two applications, a 3.6-fold difference in ceiling — and neither label names the other product once.
Educational reference, not medical advice. Which medication suits you is a decision for your prescriber.