Free clinical tool
Weight Loss Percentage Calculator
What percentage of your body weight you have lost, in kilograms or pounds — and what the STEP 1, SURMOUNT-1 and STEP UP trials actually reported, with the timepoint, the population and the spread attached.
- Reviewed by
- Alpha Health Finder Editorial Team
- Last reviewed
The sum is trivial. Comparing it to a trial is not.
Percentage of body weight lost is the weight you have lost divided by the weight you started at. It is deliberately a ratio rather than a number of pounds, because 20 lb means something very different to a man who started at 180 lb than to one who started at 340 lb, and every clinical threshold in obesity medicine is written as a percentage for exactly that reason.
The percentage is identical whether you weigh in kilograms or pounds. The conversion factor between the two appears in the numerator and the denominator and cancels out, so the unit toggle above changes what the pounds-lost figure says and leaves the percentage untouched. This is not a claim we ask you to take on trust — weight-loss-percentage.test.ts asserts it across every starting weight from 120 to 500 lb, and then again under an arbitrary rescaling, to prove the cancellation is real and not a coincidence of the 0.453 592 37 factor.
What is not trivial is the next question. Having got a number, almost everyone wants to know whether it is good, and the yardstick they reach for is a GLP-1 trial headline: 15% on semaglutide, 21% on tirzepatide. Those figures are real and are printed in full below. But each of them is a mean, over a specific population, on a specific protocol, at one specific week, analysed under a specific rule for handling people who stopped taking the drug. Detached from those four things it is not a benchmark, it is a scoreboard — and a reader eleven weeks into treatment comparing themselves against a week-72 mean is measuring the wrong thing.
There is a second, quieter trap in the same place. When a paper writes a mean as "−20.9% (95% CI −21.8 to −19.9)", that interval is the precision of the average across 630 people. It is not the range individual people fell in, and it is about ten times too narrow to be read that way. The honest picture of the spread is the responder ladder — how many reached ≥5%, ≥10%, ≥15%, ≥20% — and in SURMOUNT-1 that ladder runs from 91% of the 15 mg arm reaching 5% down to 57% reaching 20%. Both charts below print the ladder next to the mean, every time.
The 5%, 10% and 15% marks are not arbitrary and they are not ours. 5% is a regulatory endpoint: it is a coprimary endpoint in all three trials here, in their own words — STEP 1 states "The coprimary end points were the percentage change in body weight and weight reduction of at least 5%.". 10% and 15% have outcome evidence behind them from Look AHEAD and from a Washington University stepped-weight-loss trial; the fourth chart says exactly what each one was measured to do, and where that finding comes from. Where we could not source a threshold, the chart says so rather than filling the cell.
The formula
percentage lost = (starting weight − current weight) ÷ starting weight × 100
target weight = starting weight × (1 − target percentage ÷ 100)
still to lose = current weight − target weight
Use one unit throughout and the percentage is the same in either: the pounds-to-kilograms factor cancels between the numerator and the denominator. Do not mix units within a single calculation — a starting weight in pounds against a current weight in kilograms produces a plausible-looking number that is completely wrong, which is the one arithmetic mistake this page can actually make.
Worked example
Started at 248 lb (112.49 kg), now 221 lb (100.24 kg):
- Weight lost = 248 − 221 = 27.0 lb (12.25 kg)
- Percentage lost = 27.0 ÷ 248 × 100 = 10.9%
- The same two weights in kilograms: 112.49 − 100.24 = 12.25 kg, and 12.25 ÷ 112.49 × 100 = 10.9% — identical, as it must be
- That clears both the 5% and the 10% marks: 10% of 248 lb is 223.2 lb, and 221 lb is 2.2 lb below it
- The 15% mark is 210.8 lb — another 10.2 lb from here
- For context, and only as context: in STEP 1 (Wilding JPH, et al), 69.1% of the semaglutide 2.4 mg arm had reached 10% by week 68, and 50.5% had reached 15% — in 1,961 adults with a mean starting weight of 105.3 kg, all of whom were also on a lifestyle intervention
Weight loss percentage chart — what 5%, 10%, 15% and 20% is at your starting weight
How many pounds each threshold is, and the weight it lands you at, by starting weight. Find your starting weight on the left and read across.
| Starting weight | 5% lostlb off → weight | 10% lostlb off → weight | 15% lostlb off → weight | 20% lostlb off → weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 140 lb63.5 kg | −7.0 lbto 133.0 lb / 60.3 kg | −14.0 lbto 126.0 lb / 57.2 kg | −21.0 lbto 119.0 lb / 54.0 kg | −28.0 lbto 112.0 lb / 50.8 kg |
| 160 lb72.6 kg | −8.0 lbto 152.0 lb / 68.9 kg | −16.0 lbto 144.0 lb / 65.3 kg | −24.0 lbto 136.0 lb / 61.7 kg | −32.0 lbto 128.0 lb / 58.1 kg |
| 180 lb81.6 kg | −9.0 lbto 171.0 lb / 77.6 kg | −18.0 lbto 162.0 lb / 73.5 kg | −27.0 lbto 153.0 lb / 69.4 kg | −36.0 lbto 144.0 lb / 65.3 kg |
| 200 lb90.7 kg | −10.0 lbto 190.0 lb / 86.2 kg | −20.0 lbto 180.0 lb / 81.6 kg | −30.0 lbto 170.0 lb / 77.1 kg | −40.0 lbto 160.0 lb / 72.6 kg |
| 220 lb99.8 kg | −11.0 lbto 209.0 lb / 94.8 kg | −22.0 lbto 198.0 lb / 89.8 kg | −33.0 lbto 187.0 lb / 84.8 kg | −44.0 lbto 176.0 lb / 79.8 kg |
| 240 lb108.9 kg | −12.0 lbto 228.0 lb / 103.4 kg | −24.0 lbto 216.0 lb / 98.0 kg | −36.0 lbto 204.0 lb / 92.5 kg | −48.0 lbto 192.0 lb / 87.1 kg |
| 260 lb117.9 kg | −13.0 lbto 247.0 lb / 112.0 kg | −26.0 lbto 234.0 lb / 106.1 kg | −39.0 lbto 221.0 lb / 100.2 kg | −52.0 lbto 208.0 lb / 94.3 kg |
| 280 lb127.0 kg | −14.0 lbto 266.0 lb / 120.7 kg | −28.0 lbto 252.0 lb / 114.3 kg | −42.0 lbto 238.0 lb / 108.0 kg | −56.0 lbto 224.0 lb / 101.6 kg |
| 300 lb136.1 kg | −15.0 lbto 285.0 lb / 129.3 kg | −30.0 lbto 270.0 lb / 122.5 kg | −45.0 lbto 255.0 lb / 115.7 kg | −60.0 lbto 240.0 lb / 108.9 kg |
| 330 lb149.7 kg | −16.5 lbto 313.5 lb / 142.2 kg | −33.0 lbto 297.0 lb / 134.7 kg | −49.5 lbto 280.5 lb / 127.2 kg | −66.0 lbto 264.0 lb / 119.7 kg |
| 360 lb163.3 kg | −18.0 lbto 342.0 lb / 155.1 kg | −36.0 lbto 324.0 lb / 147.0 kg | −54.0 lbto 306.0 lb / 138.8 kg | −72.0 lbto 288.0 lb / 130.6 kg |
| 400 lb181.4 kg | −20.0 lbto 380.0 lb / 172.4 kg | −40.0 lbto 360.0 lb / 163.3 kg | −60.0 lbto 340.0 lb / 154.2 kg | −80.0 lbto 320.0 lb / 145.1 kg |
Every figure computed by weightAtPercentLoss(), the same function the calculator above calls, so the table and the widget cannot disagree. The percentage is unit-invariant: 10% of 220 lb and 10% of 99.8 kg are the same 10%, and only the pounds-and-kilograms columns change.
What the three GLP-1 trials actually reported
Mean weight change and the responder ladder, exactly as each trial report states them. The mean is the average of the arm; the ladder is the spread of the people in it. Read both or neither.
| Trial and arm | Mean changeat the endpoint week | ≥5%of the arm | ≥10%of the arm | ≥15%of the arm | ≥20%of the arm |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| STEP 1 — Semaglutide 2.4 mgn=1,306, week 68 | −14.9%no CI on the arm mean | 86.4% | 69.1% | 50.5% | not reportedthe abstract stops at 15% |
| STEP 1 — Placebon=655, week 68 | −2.4%no CI on the arm mean | 31.5% | 12% | 4.9% | not reportedthe abstract stops at 15% |
| SURMOUNT-1 — Tirzepatide 5 mgn=630, week 72 | −15.0%95% CI −15.9 to −14.2 | 85% | not reportedthe abstract reports 5% and 20% only | not reportedthe abstract reports 5% and 20% only | not reportedthe abstract reports 5% and 20% only |
| SURMOUNT-1 — Tirzepatide 10 mgn=636, week 72 | −19.5%95% CI −20.4 to −18.5 | 89% | not reportedthe abstract reports 5% and 20% only | not reportedthe abstract reports 5% and 20% only | 50% |
| SURMOUNT-1 — Tirzepatide 15 mgn=630, week 72 | −20.9%95% CI −21.8 to −19.9 | 91% | not reportedthe abstract reports 5% and 20% only | not reportedthe abstract reports 5% and 20% only | 57% |
| SURMOUNT-1 — Placebon=643, week 72 | −3.1%95% CI −4.3 to −1.9 | 35% | not reportedthe abstract reports 5% and 20% only | not reportedthe abstract reports 5% and 20% only | 3% |
| STEP UP — Semaglutide 7.2 mgn=1,005, week 72 | −18.7%SE 0.4 | not reportedthe abstract gives odds ratios, no proportions | not reportedthe abstract gives odds ratios, no proportions | not reportedthe abstract gives odds ratios, no proportions | not reportedthe abstract gives odds ratios, no proportions |
| STEP UP — Semaglutide 2.4 mgn=201, week 72 | −15.6%SE 0.7 | not reportedthe abstract gives odds ratios, no proportions | not reportedthe abstract gives odds ratios, no proportions | not reportedthe abstract gives odds ratios, no proportions | not reportedthe abstract gives odds ratios, no proportions |
| STEP UP — Placebon=201, week 72 | −3.9%SE 0.6 | not reportedthe abstract gives odds ratios, no proportions | not reportedthe abstract gives odds ratios, no proportions | not reportedthe abstract gives odds ratios, no proportions | not reportedthe abstract gives odds ratios, no proportions |
Sources, all fetched: Wilding JPH, et al. Once-Weekly Semaglutide in Adults with Overweight or Obesity. N Engl J Med. 2021;384(11):989-1002 (PMID 33567185); Jastreboff AM, et al. Tirzepatide Once Weekly for the Treatment of Obesity. N Engl J Med. 2022;387(3):205-216 (PMID 35658024); Wharton S, et al. Once-weekly semaglutide 7·2 mg in adults with obesity (STEP UP): a randomised, controlled, phase 3b trial. Lancet Diabetes Endocrinol. 2025;13(11):949-963 (PMID 40961952). "Not reported" means that abstract does not state that proportion, and the cell is left as a refusal rather than filled from the drug label — the label figures are the separate table below, computed on a different denominator. STEP UP reports its responder results as odds ratios against placebo (12.1 at ≥5%, 14.5 at ≥10%, 20.3 at ≥15%, 27.3 at ≥20%) and gives no proportions at all, which is why every rung in its three rows is blank here. A 95% CI in the "mean change" column is the precision of that arm's average across hundreds of people; it is not the range individuals fell in, and the four columns to its right are.
The same three trials as the FDA-approved labels report them
The identical trials, recomputed for the US prescribing information across everyone randomised with missing weights imputed. Compare each row with the row above — several do not match.
| Trial and arm | Mean changelabel LSMean | ≥5%ITT, imputed | ≥10%ITT, imputed | ≥15%ITT, imputed | ≥20%ITT, imputed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| STEP 1 — Semaglutide 2.4 mgWEGOVY label, Study 2 | −14.9%week 68 | 83.5% | 66.1% | 47.9% | 30.2% |
| STEP 1 — PlaceboWEGOVY label, Study 2 | −2.4%week 68 | 31.1% | 12% | 4.8% | 1.7% |
| SURMOUNT-1 — Tirzepatide 5 mgZEPBOUND label, Study 1 | −15.0%week 72 | 85.1% | 68.5% | 48% | 30% |
| SURMOUNT-1 — Tirzepatide 10 mgZEPBOUND label, Study 1 | −19.5%week 72 | 88.9% | 78.1% | 66.6% | 50.1% |
| SURMOUNT-1 — Tirzepatide 15 mgZEPBOUND label, Study 1 | −20.9%week 72 | 90.9% | 83.5% | 70.6% | 56.7% |
| SURMOUNT-1 — PlaceboZEPBOUND label, Study 1 | −3.1%week 72 | 34.5% | 18.8% | 8.8% | 3.1% |
| STEP UP — Semaglutide 7.2 mgWEGOVY label, Study 8 | −18.8%week 72 | 88.7% | 79.8% | 63.8% | 45.5% |
| STEP UP — Semaglutide 2.4 mgWEGOVY label, Study 8 | −15.5%week 72 | 86.6% | 72% | 52.3% | 32.3% |
| STEP UP — PlaceboWEGOVY label, Study 8 | −3.9%week 72 | 38.3% | 20.3% | 7.5% | 2.8% |
WEGOVY prescribing information, section 14.2, Tables 8 and 12 (DailyMed SPL ee06186f-2aa3-4990-a760-757579d8f77b); ZEPBOUND prescribing information, section 14.1, Table 2 (SPL 487cd7e7-434c-4925-99fa-aa80b1cc776b). The clearest disagreement is STEP 1: the paper says 86.4% of the semaglutide arm reached 5%, the label says 83.5%. Both are correct. The paper divides by the 1,212 participants who had a week-68 weight (1,047 ÷ 1,212 = 86.4%); the label divides by all 1,306 randomised and imputes the 7.2% missing from retrieved dropouts. STEP UP shows a smaller version of the same thing — the Lancet reports the 7.2 mg mean as −18.7%, the label as −18.8%. Neither source is wrong; the gap is a decision about missing data, not about the drug.
Where the 5%, 10% and 15% thresholds come from
Each threshold against what a source actually measured at it. The thresholds are not a scale we invented, and the last row is the one we could not source.
| Threshold | What was measured at itnot what it is said to mean | Sourceall fetched |
|---|---|---|
| 5%regulatory | A coprimary endpoint in all three trials hereSTEP 1's wording: "weight reduction of at least 5%" | STEP 1, SURMOUNT-1 and STEP UPPMID 33567185, 35658024, 40961952 |
| 5.1%metabolic | Improved liver, muscle and adipose insulin sensitivity and β cell functionno change in inflammation markers at this step | Magkos F, et al. Cell Metab. 2016;23(4):591–601PMID 26916363, n=19 |
| 5 to <10%cardiometabolic | Odds of a 0.5-point HbA1c fall 3.52; of a 40 mg/dL triglyceride fall 2.20versus weight-stable, at 1 year, in type 2 diabetes | Wing RR, et al. Diabetes Care. 2011;34(7):1481–6PMID 21593294, n=5,145 |
| 10–15%cardiometabolic | "The odds of clinically significant improvements in most risk factors were even greater"same cohort, same 1-year timepoint | Wing RR, et al. Diabetes Care. 2011;34(7):1481–6PMID 21593294 |
| 16.4%metabolic | Stepwise further change in liver fat, fat mass and adipose gene expressionβ cell function and muscle insulin sensitivity improved further again | Magkos F, et al. Cell Metab. 2016;23(4):591–601PMID 26916363, n=9 |
| 20%reporting rung only | Nothing we could source. It is a row in the labels, not a validated cut-pointwe decline to state a clinical meaning for it | No primary source foundstated as a refusal, not omitted |
Read the left column literally. "5% improves insulin sensitivity" is a finding in 19 people who lost 5.1% under supervision at Washington University, not a promise. The Look AHEAD figures are an observational analysis within a trial cohort of people with type 2 diabetes, so they describe an association with the amount lost rather than the effect of any particular way of losing it. Neither study used a GLP-1 drug.
Frequently asked questions
- How do I calculate the percentage of body weight I have lost?
- Subtract your current weight from your starting weight, divide by your starting weight, and multiply by 100. Starting at 248 lb and now at 221 lb: 248 − 221 = 27 lb, and 27 ÷ 248 × 100 = 10.9%. The starting weight is the divisor, not the current one — dividing by the current weight is the commonest error and inflates the answer, giving 12.2% in this example instead of 10.9%.
- Is the percentage different in kilograms and pounds?
- No, and it cannot be. The conversion factor sits in both the numerator and the denominator and cancels out. Starting at 248 lb and now 221 lb gives 10.9%; the same two weights are 112.49 kg and 100.24 kg, and 12.25 ÷ 112.49 × 100 is the same 10.9%. Only the absolute figure changes — 27 lb or 12.25 kg. Mixing the units within one calculation, a starting weight in pounds against a current weight in kilograms, is the one way to get a wrong answer here.
- What is a good percentage of body weight to lose?
- Three thresholds have evidence behind them rather than being round numbers. 5% is the regulatory bar and is the coprimary endpoint of every trial on this page; in 19 adults who lost 5.1% under supervision at Washington University it improved insulin sensitivity in liver, muscle and fat simultaneously. In the Look AHEAD cohort of 5,145 adults with type 2 diabetes, losing 5 to under 10% over a year tripled the odds of a 0.5-point HbA1c fall against staying weight-stable, and losing 10–15% did better again. There is no single "good" number, because the answer depends on what you are trying to change.
- How much weight did people actually lose in the semaglutide and tirzepatide trials?
- In STEP 1, the mean change at week 68 was −14.9% on semaglutide 2.4 mg against −2.4% on placebo, across 1,961 adults with a mean starting weight of 105.3 kg. In SURMOUNT-1, at week 72, it was −15.0% on tirzepatide 5 mg, −19.5% on 10 mg and −20.9% on 15 mg, against −3.1% on placebo, in 2,539 adults averaging 104.8 kg. In STEP UP, at week 72, semaglutide 7.2 mg gave −18.7% against −15.6% on 2.4 mg and −3.9% on placebo, in 1,407 adults averaging 113.0 kg. Every one of those is a mean at one timepoint in a trial population also receiving a lifestyle intervention.
- Why does my percentage look bad next to the trial averages?
- Usually because the comparison is not like for like. The trial figures are at week 68 or week 72 — sixteen to seventeen months — and are averages over people selected for a BMI of 30 or more who were also on a structured 500 kcal/day deficit and 150 minutes a week of activity. They are also spread widely: in STEP 1, half the semaglutide arm did not reach 15%, and 13.6% did not reach even 5%. A mean is not a target, and being below one is not a result.
- Do the published trial results and the FDA labels give the same numbers?
- Not always, and the gap is worth understanding. For STEP 1, the New England Journal of Medicine paper says 86.4% of the semaglutide arm reached 5% weight loss; the Wegovy label says 83.5% for the same arm of the same trial. The paper divides by the 1,212 participants who had a week-68 weight, the label divides by all 1,306 randomised and imputes the missing 7.2%. STEP UP shows a smaller version — the Lancet says −18.7% for semaglutide 7.2 mg, the label says −18.8%. Both tables are printed above so you can see which figure a given claim came from.
- How much of the weight lost is fat rather than muscle?
- This page will not tell you, because none of the three trial abstracts reports body composition. They report total body weight — the number on the scale — and nothing in them distinguishes fat mass from lean mass. Any calculator that splits your loss into fat and muscle is modelling it, not measuring it. A DXA scan measures it; a percentage of scale weight does not, and we would rather say so than print an invented split.
- How much is 10% of my body weight if I start at 250 lb?
- 25 lb, taking you to 225 lb (102.1 kg). 5% would be 12.5 lb to 237.5 lb, 15% would be 37.5 lb to 212.5 lb, and 20% would be 50 lb to 200 lb. The chart above runs the same four thresholds for starting weights from 140 to 400 lb, computed by the same function the calculator uses.
Sources
- [1]Wilding JPH, Batterham RL, Calanna S, et al. Once-Weekly Semaglutide in Adults with Overweight or Obesity (STEP 1). N Engl J Med. 2021;384(11):989–1002
- [2]Jastreboff AM, Aronne LJ, Ahmad NN, et al. Tirzepatide Once Weekly for the Treatment of Obesity (SURMOUNT-1). N Engl J Med. 2022;387(3):205–216
- [3]Wharton S, Freitas P, Hjelmesæth J, et al. Once-weekly semaglutide 7·2 mg in adults with obesity (STEP UP): a randomised, controlled, phase 3b trial. Lancet Diabetes Endocrinol. 2025;13(11):949–963
- [4]Magkos F, Fraterrigo G, Yoshino J, et al. Effects of Moderate and Subsequent Progressive Weight Loss on Metabolic Function and Adipose Tissue Biology in Humans with Obesity. Cell Metab. 2016;23(4):591–601
- [5]Wing RR, Lang W, Wadden TA, et al. Benefits of modest weight loss in improving cardiovascular risk factors in overweight and obese individuals with type 2 diabetes (Look AHEAD). Diabetes Care. 2011;34(7):1481–1486
- [6]WEGOVY (semaglutide) injection prescribing information, section 14.2 Weight Reduction and Long-term Maintenance Studies in Adults, Tables 8 and 12. Novo Nordisk, via DailyMed
- [7]ZEPBOUND (tirzepatide) injection prescribing information, section 14.1 Weight Reduction and Long-Term Maintenance Studies in Adults, Table 2. Eli Lilly, via DailyMed
- [8]NIST Guide to the SI, Appendix B.9: factors for units listed by kind of quantity — Mass, pound (avoirdupois) to kilogram
Embed this calculator
Free to use on your own site, no permission needed and no account. The widget resizes itself to fit your layout. Keeping the credit line underneath is appreciated, but the calculator works exactly the same if you delete it.
<!-- Weight Loss Percentage Calculator — by Alpha Health Finder. Free to embed; keeping the credit line below is appreciated but not required. -->
<iframe src="https://alphahealthfinder.com/embed/tools/weight-loss-percentage-calculator"
title="Weight Loss Percentage Calculator"
width="100%" height="2880" loading="lazy"
style="border:1px solid #e2e8f0;border-radius:12px;max-width:680px;width:100%"
data-ahf-embed="weight-loss-percentage-calculator"></iframe>
<p style="max-width:680px;margin:8px 0 0;font:13px/1.5 system-ui,-apple-system,sans-serif;color:#64748b">
<a href="https://alphahealthfinder.com/tools/weight-loss-percentage-calculator">Weight Loss Percentage Calculator</a> by <a href="https://alphahealthfinder.com">Alpha Health Finder</a>
</p>
<script src="https://alphahealthfinder.com/embed/resize.js" async></script>Next steps
- Semaglutide units converter
- Tirzepatide units converter
- Semaglutide dosage chart
- Tirzepatide dosage chart
- HOMA-IR calculator
Related calculators
- Semaglutide units converterSemaglutide mg, mcg and U-100 syringe units at your vial’s concentration. Full conversion chart and reconstitution table.
- Retatrutide Dosage CalculatorReconstitution and mg-to-units arithmetic for retatrutide, plus the doses actually used in the published phase 2 trials. Investigational compound.
- Tirzepatide units converterTirzepatide mg, mcg and U-100 syringe units at your vial’s concentration. Full conversion chart plus the Mounjaro and Zepbound label ladders.
- GLP-1 Titration PlannerYour start date plus the FDA-labelled ladder, as dates: which dose in which week, and the earliest each step is allowed.
- Liraglutide units converterLiraglutide mg, mcg, mL and units — pen supply arithmetic plus the XULTOPHY dose-counter conversion the label actually authorises.
- GLP-1 cost comparisonWhat a pharmacy paid for every approved GLP-1, per injection and per month, from the CMS NADAC file — with your own monthly price set against it.
Educational reference, not medical advice. A percentage of body weight is a measurement, not an assessment. The trial figures on this page are means over defined populations at single timepoints under defined protocols, and comparing your own number to one of them is not a clinical evaluation of how you are doing. Nothing here is a dose, a target or a recommendation to start or stop a medication.